The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel subdomain creation fails

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by budz, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. budz

    budz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi.

    I was creating sub domains.
    I created 2 sub domains. They worked fine.
    I created a third(fourth, fifth etc) it said success.
    However, they were not accessible.
    Everything looked fine in httpd.conf

    I did have success creating the sub domains on other domains on the server.

    Anyone know how to fix this?

    cPanel version: 11.25.1-EDGE

    Thanks
     
  2. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The first thing that comes to mind is the DNS ....

    Are you using the DNS on your server (or connected DNS cluster) or is your DNS setup by some outside 3rd party source somewhere else?

    (If you got to go and setup "A" records someplace else with your domain then you are using a 3rd party DNS source and that is something that is
    ill advised and really not recommended with Cpanel based servers precisely for this exact reason right here and now)

    The other side item worth mentioning is that it takes a little while for new subdomain addresses to be accessible even if your DNS is setup correctly and using the DNS on your Cpanel server. It is roughly equivalent to registering a brand new domain name on the internet. If you are trying to access the subdomains immediately after creation, that too could be a potential issue as well.
     
  3. budz

    budz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Thanks for the reply.

    DNS is on my server.

    I created the sub domains and tried to access them immediately.
    Two of them worked fine, then the next few on this specific domain did not.

    So, I slept thinking may be propagation issue. Today, still not working.
    I've created them on other domains just fine (same server), and had access instantly since.

    mind blowing that I just can't create anymore sub domains on this 1 specific domain.

    It doesn't appear to be a restriction either... unless I'm missing something
     
  4. budz

    budz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any other suggestions/ideas?

    This is frustrating!
     
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try rebuilding the Apache configuration

    Try backing up and rebuilding the Apache configuration, then restarting Apache:

    Code:
    # cd /usr/local/apache/conf
    # cp httpd.conf httpd.conf.pre-rebuild.bak
    # /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    # /usr/local/apache/bin/apachectl configtest
    # /scripts/restartsrv_httpd
    Also, check to make sure that the subdomains resolve to the correct IP address. When you say "they were not accessible," do you mean that you saw an error in the browser, or the Apache default page, or something else?

    If the subdomains resolve to the correct IP address, and rebuilding the httpd.conf file does not help, please submit a ticket so that we may log into your server and investigate the problem directly.
     
  6. budz

    budz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Jared,

    Thank you for the reply.

    I rebuilt apache & restarted ... still no luck.
    The 2 specific sub domains I'm trying to create are not resolving.

    I can create a different sub domain on the same domain that resolves instantly.

    This is making no sense, lol.

    My dedicated server is through theplanet.
    Am I eligible to submit a support ticket to cpanel ?
     
  7. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes

    I apologize for the delayed reply. While you should contact your hosting provider, in this case The Planet, first, and they can submit a ticket to us on your behalf, you are welcome to submit a ticket directly. The ticket submission page is the second link in my forum signature.
     
  8. budz

    budz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply again Jared!

    My hosting provider figured out it was the DNS that I'm using on my PC.

    I was only using Google DNS. (8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4)

    I switched out 8.8.8.8 to one of Comodos DNS and the sub domains resolve fine.

    weird... since every other sub domain resolved fine.
     
  9. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is odd, but caching DNS servers can certainly cause some behavior that appears to be bizarre. I'm glad you figured it out.
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Important cPanel/WHM Version Number Designation Change

    Please Note: Important cPanel/WHM Version Number Designation Change

    As of July 28, 2010 the cPanel/WHM version number designations have been officially changed.

    Version 11.25.1 is now designated 11.28 and version 11.25.2 is now designated 11.30.

    These new changes were explained in some detail recently at the July 2010 - Quarterly Road map - Webinar direct from cPanel's PodCast Studio in Houston, Texas with speakers David Grega and Mario Rodriguez.

    An official press release about these changes is forthcoming and can be accessed at this link as soon as it's made available to the Forum Team:
    Important cPanel/WHM Version Number Designation Change (To be updated)

    This post serves to update users who are subscribed to threads (where this message is posted) looking forward to upcoming enhancements in future versions of cPanel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page