The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Subdomain issues WHM 8.5.4 cPanel 8.5.4-R7_

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by midnightz, Nov 16, 2003.

  1. midnightz

    midnightz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a serious bug with the trailing / that is being forced onto pages.

    WHM 8.5.4 cPanel 8.5.4-R7_

    I have a client that complained that she couldnt do a subdomain redirect and after checking, well she is right. It wont redirect to a page such as blah.html

    It says to end the URL with a / but that doesnt work and its a little frustrating.

    SubDomain Redirection

    landyss.thisdomain.com is currently being redirected to Save (here is where the field box is for the URL redirect.

    Note: If you wish to have filename redirection (example: http://landyss_thisdomain.com.thisdomain.com/test.html -> http://redirecturl/test.html) be sure to end a trailing / on the end of the url.

    That doesnt work it gets a 404

    any help on this - please

    this bug sucks

    I have tried veery confiq possible - it doesn't work :(

    Please help - thanks
     
  2. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    same here , new subdomain redirections doesn't work , 2 boxes
     
  3. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    it doesn't work because

    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^test$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.test$

    should be instead

    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^test$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.test$ [OR]
     
  4. midnightz

    midnightz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep,

    You need to edit all subdomains .htaccess and take away the trailing /

    its a pain.

    I have a new client with like 100 of them :?
     
  5. midnightz

    midnightz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This has been verifyed with my data centers and also 10 customers.

    cPanel please relaese a fix for this problem,

    Thanks
     
  6. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, or a script that will fix everyones would be nice. I have about 200 clients, and all of them have at least 3 of those files, that will take a lot of time.
     
  7. midnightz

    midnightz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It shouldn't affect any subdomains if they were there before the upgrade, it only affects new sub domains going to a document.ext

    Since those older subdomains are already in the htaccess file.

    But new sub domains created and new clients will notice if they try.

    I hope a patch comes out soon as well :)
     
  8. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I agree , only new subdomains.
     
  9. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    the problem has still to be fixed .... :(
     
  10. midnightz

    midnightz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was told it was given to the developers to fix this bug
     
  11. stasd

    stasd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Cpanel we need help with this problem!
     
  12. midnightz

    midnightz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    This should now be fixed in EDGE builds, let me know if you still see trouble with new redirects after upgrading.

    From Cpanel support
     
  13. stasd

    stasd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Subdomains doesn't work and new domain too :(
     
  14. lordadz

    lordadz Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    Is there a fix a total n00b can implement?

    this:
    means absolutely nothing to me..

    I should add I am using a reseller account that is running cPanel 8.5.4-RELEASE 72 and WHM.
    I have tried adding subdomains, and they work when I point the browser to /mydomain.com/subdomain but not /subdomain.mydomain.com - I get the IE "Cannot find server" message.

    I have tried restarting dns in WHM - I read that this sometimes works - but it doesn't help.

    Also - is this version of cPanel an unstable version? I'm just wondering why my host would put this version on instead of a stable version.

    Any help is appreciated,
    Adz
     
  15. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Upgrading to EDGE and re-saving the redirect will fix the problem.
     
  16. solan

    solan Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey guys...

    WHM 8.5.4 cPanel 8.5.5-E19 running edge 19 and still not working :(

    I personaly haven't dug to deep into the problem yet but I will this weekend and hopefully I will come up with something that I can post about!
     
  17. spiff06

    spiff06 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    I just checked the forum to investigate a problem I suddenly started having with a subdomain sub.domain.com getting rewritten to www.domain.com/sub.

    There was no rewrite yesterday, but suddenly there was one today.

    Your posts made me identify the source of the problem in the rewrite rule which appears in the .htaccess of the subdomain's root folder.

    Other subdomains worked perfectly fine without the .htaccess, so I simply deleted it and the problem is gone.

    Now the decision to add the .htaccess must have come from somewhere. Does anyone know which script is responsible for adding this in, and what triggers it to do so?

    - Eric
     
    #17 spiff06, Jan 24, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2004
  18. poppyq

    poppyq Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I am having this same problem, it is rewriting them in the address bar to www.domain.com/sub instead of leaving them as sub.domain.com

    Any ideas?
     
  19. spiff06

    spiff06 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you have an .htaccess file in /home/<user>/public_html/sub, and it contains a rewrite procedure similar to the one I posted earlier, you can safely scratch it. If you don't have such a file, please let us know. It's an interesting issue.

    -e
     
  20. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I am using latest edge and yesterday one of my user
    created a subdomain with redirection .

    He had again the problem of 1 row on .htaccess without [or]
    (see my post above) and the sudomain redicrection didn't work.

    Please someone can fix the problem definitely ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page