The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel Transfers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hamza, Jul 7, 2005.

  1. Hamza

    Hamza Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello there,

    I have a problem with the Transfer function ( Copy multiple accounts from
    another server ) when I do a transfer everything is transfered correctly except
    the MySQL databases, when I checked the /var/lib/mysql directory I've found the
    .sql file of all accounts, I've tried many times, but noway, asked for an Os
    reinstallation and still have the same problem.

    Here are my details:
    WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-S83
    CentOS 3.5 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  2. lankyb

    lankyb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Its hard to tell what the problem could be without knowing what the error is, if you run it again then copy and paste what it says we might be able to help you more.

    By the sounds of it, its not a problem with your new server, but with the server you are copying from. If its another cPanel server, i suggest making sure that it is fully up-to-date... this can be done by running the folling script:

    Code:
     /scripts/upcp -- force 
    If its another OS, you might need to copy the MySQL databases manually. I have found the following topics that might be of some use to you:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=38266&highlight=transfer+mysql
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=39949&highlight=mysql+transfer
    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=38989&highlight=mysql+transfer << This one VERY loosely
     
  3. Hamza

    Hamza Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hrm I don't think that's coming from my old server, because I've already tried to transfer from another server but noway, the same problem..

    I'll try to retransfer now and I'll past the full logs, no errors appears, but who cares:


    Attempting to copy genious from genious.net

    Main >> Transfers >> Copy an account from another server with account password

    Attempting to login as genious to genious.net via ftp
    Login ok
    Uploading Htaccess
    Uploading Wrapper
    Uploading Dectector
    Uploading Packager
    Uploading Downloader
    Uploading Killer
    chmoding scripts
    Found uid to be: 32005
    Compiling wrapper
    uploading wrapper
    chmodding wrapper
    Closing FTP Control
    Packing Account using suexec method

    pkgacct started.
    pkgacct version 3.1 - running with uid 32005
    using time::hires for speedups
    Copying Reseller Config...Done
    Copying SSL Certificates, CSRS, and Keys...Done
    Copying Mail files....Done
    Copying frontpage files....Done
    Copying proftpd file....Done
    Copying www logs.............
    ...............
    Done
    Grabbing mysql dbs............
    Done
    Grabbing mysql privs...Done
    Copying mailman lists....Done
    Copying mailman archives....Done
    Copying homedir.............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    Done
    Copying cpuser file.......Done
    Copying crontab file.......Done
    Copying quota info.......Done
    Storing Subdomains....
    Done
    Storing Parked Domains....
    Done
    Storing Addon Domains....
    Done
    Copying password.......Done
    Copying shell.......Done
    pkgacctfile is: /tmp/cpmove-genious.tar.gz
    Creating Archive .............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    ...............
    Done
    FOUND MD5 to be : 979c8d6b3526979cb734f4d03e1244eb
    md5sum is: 979c8d6b3526979cb734f4d03e1244eb
    DOWNLOAD READY in /tmp/cpmove-genious.tar.gz
    Downloading Tarball
    Removing Scripts using suexec method

    UNLINKED
    Checksum Matches!
    pkgacctfile is: /home/cpmove-genious.tar.gz
    MOVE IS GOOD!
    Extracting tarball...................
    ...............
    ...............
    Done

    Extracting Domain....Done

    Generating Account....

    WWWAcct 9.2 (c) 1997-2004 cPanel, Inc.

    +===================================+
    | New Account Info |
    +===================================+
    | Domain: genious.net
    | Ip: 64.20.35.110 (y)
    | HasCgi: y
    | UserName: genious
    | PassWord: HIDDEN
    | CpanelMod: default
    | HomeRoot: /home
    | Quota: 0 Meg
    | NameServer1: ns1.genious.net
    | NameServer2: ns2.genious.net
    | NameServer3:
    | NameServer4:
    | Contact Email:
    +===================================+
    User genious added
    Changing password for genious
    Password for genious has been changed
    Keeping Shell Access (y)
    Jail Shell Enabled
    Changing shell for genious.
    Shell changed.
    Copying skel files from /root/cpanel3-skel/ to /home/genious/
    Adding Name Virtual Host Entry
    Added Entries to httpd.conf (ip)
    Adding Proftpd conf entry
    Bind reconfiguring on hostex using rndc
    Error reconfiguring bind on hostex: rndc: connection to remote host closed
    This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of
    the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect,
    or the key is invalid.

    Added Named File
    Restarting apache
    Restarting proftpd
    Ftp Password Files synced
    Vhost Passwords synced
    skip CONTACTEMAIL (1) [3]
    wwwacct creation finished


    Restoring reseller privs (if any)



    Restoring SSL keys and Certificates
    Done



    Restoring Mail files
    Done



    Restoring frontpage (if installed)
    Done


    Restoring access logs....
    Done


    Restoring mySQL databases....
    Done



    Restoring mySQL privs
    Done



    Reloading mySQL
    Done


    Restoring PostgreSQL databases....

    Restoring Mailman lists
    Done



    Restoring Mailman Archives
    Done



    Restoring cpanel user config file
    Done



    Restoring quota

    Using redhat 7.1/mdk 8.0
    Using new quota support
    (uid 320 0 0 ):
    Filesystem blocks soft hard inodes soft hard
    /dev/sda2 246028 0 0 8698 0 0

    Done



    Restoring shell

    Changing shell for genious.
    Shell not changed.

    Done



    Restoring password

    Changing password for genious
    Password for genious has been changed

    Done



    Restoring proftpd file
    Done



    Resyncing Ftp Passwords

    Ftp Password Files synced
    Vhost Passwords synced

    Done



    Restoring subdomains

    IP=64.20.35.110
    Bind reloading on hostex using rndc zone: [genious.net]
    Error reloading bind on hostex: rndc: connection to remote host closed
    This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of
    the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect,
    or the key is invalid.

    ...billing (genious.net)...
    The subdomain, billing.genious.net has been added.IP=64.20.35.110
    Bind reloading on hostex using rndc zone: [genious.net]
    Error reloading bind on hostex: rndc: connection to remote host closed
    This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of
    the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect,
    or the key is invalid.

    ...cpanel (genious.net)...
    The subdomain, cpanel.genious.net has been added.IP=64.20.35.110
    Bind reloading on hostex using rndc zone: [genious.net]
    Error reloading bind on hostex: rndc: connection to remote host closed
    This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of
    the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect,
    or the key is invalid.

    ...domains (genious.net)...
    The subdomain, domains.genious.net has been added.IP=64.20.35.110
    Bind reloading on hostex using rndc zone: [genious.net]
    Error reloading bind on hostex: rndc: connection to remote host closed
    This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of
    the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect,
    or the key is invalid.

    ...webmail (genious.net)...
    The subdomain, webmail.genious.net has been added.IP=64.20.35.110
    Bind reloading on hostex using rndc zone: [genious.net]
    Error reloading bind on hostex: rndc: connection to remote host closed
    This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of
    the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect,
    or the key is invalid.

    ...whm (genious.net)...
    The subdomain, whm.genious.net has been added...Done




    Restoring parked domains

    ..Done




    Restoring addon domains

    ..Done



    Restoring Files.............
    .........
    .........
    .........
    .........
    .........
    .........
    Done


    Chowning Files.........
    .........
    Done





    Doing fileprotect conversion



    Restoring nobody owned files
    Done



    Setting interchange permissions

    Interchange not installed on this account.

    Done



    Converting email to cPanel 5+ (if needed)

    Done



    Reconfiguring email Passwords (if needed)

    Email convert v10
    billing.genious.net......Done
    cpanel.genious.net......Done
    domains.genious.net......Done
    genious.net......Done
    webmail.genious.net......Done
    whm.genious.net......Done

    Done



    Fixing mail permissions

    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/genious.net/support/sent-mail (0600).. fixing
    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/genious.net/p2p/sent-mail (0600).. fixing
    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/genious.net/lostface/INBOX.Sent (0600).. fixing
    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/genious.net/lostface/.mailboxlist (0644).. fixing
    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/genious.net/lostface/INBOX.Trash (0600).. fixing
    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/genious.net/lostface/INBOX.Drafts (0600).. fixing
    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/genious.net/irc/sent-mail (0600).. fixing
    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/INBOX.Sent (0600).. fixing
    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/INBOX.Trash (0600).. fixing
    Incorect mode on mailbox /home/genious/mail/INBOX.Drafts (0600).. fixing

    Done



    Restoring crontab
    Done



    Restore Complete
    Account Restore Complete


    Restore ok ..
    Changing password for genious
    Password for genious has been changed
    Account Restored!


    DB are not imported.. when I checked the /var/lib/mysql I found

    root@hostex [/var/lib/mysql]# ls *.sql
    genious_1.sql* genious_dotclear.sql* genious_dprj1.sql* genious_genious.sql* genious_hclv1.sql*
    root@hostex [/var/lib/mysql]#

    :/
     
  4. matt621

    matt621 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    this is probably a stupid answer, but are you sure you had databases checked to "per account and entire Mysql dir" under backups config?
     
  5. Tapan

    Tapan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    Hi,

    Just a suggestion i think better try: Main >> Transfers >> Copy an account from another server.

    Thanks.
     
  6. alphawolf

    alphawolf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Move says successful....but account created is empty

    I can not seem to get a WHM transfer using account password, (from a reseller acct to a dedicated server), to actually bring the files over!

    I go in to transfer, enter IP address, user name, password, domain name and all SEEMS to be working fine. Until I go to actually look at the account that was created and there is nothing there.

    Could it be that my reseller account the account i want to transfer is on /home, but on my dedicated server, since /home2 is the least filled drive, it is creating it there?

    If that's not the issue...does anyone have a clue why this would happen?

    When I first got the server there was no /home2 and I was able to snag all my domains from 3 different reseller accounts but the 4th, would not ever correctly work. (Which is why I still have accounts on the darn thing) I'd like to get the few accounts i have off of there ASAP since the host's support is hit and miss and the server is waaayyy oversold.

    Oh, the other server is also running RHE, WHM and CPanel. Both servers are CPanel 10.4 or 10.5

    Any suggestions would be appreciated

    peace

    Wolf
     
    #6 alphawolf, Aug 14, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2005
  7. white sox

    white sox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    The same thing is happening to me. I just copied an entire server of whm/cpanel accounts and after it was done realized that the databases are showing up with all empty tables in phpmyadmin for all members accounts.
     
  8. Tapan

    Tapan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chandigarh
    Hi,

    I had same problem but it the meaning of that option is to just copy the account with password and nothing else i think. So it does not copies rest of the stuff. But if you use the option Just a suggestion i think better try: Main >> Transfers >> Copy an account from another server then it copies everything.

    Thanks.
     
  9. protocol

    protocol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We have found the same on several servers when trying to restore or transfer an account. All appears to copy accoss but the MySQL database and tables are not retored. The sql files are in the backup and can be imported manually with phpMyAdmin. All works fine on the account when this is done. This does become a real pain if their are multiple accounts though!
     
  10. blweb

    blweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    fix for this

    Does anybody know if there is a fix for this? Thanks!
     
  11. simonpearce

    simonpearce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We came across this problem when the msql versions were different. Try exporting the SQL in the same version as the server you're bringing it do.

    Simon
     
    #11 simonpearce, Oct 23, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2005
  12. Apoc

    Apoc Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Note this part:

    Since the quota is set to 0 meg it may not be able to write any data because of that.
     
  13. kaidok.net

    kaidok.net Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just did this and ran into problems with accounts that were over 1gig. I had to do a manual backup of the account and then put it in a pubic_html dir and wget it from the new server.

    during the tranfer via WHM it did exactly as you are explaining. It seemed to move but no databases were showing up.
     
Loading...

Share This Page