The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel update 10.9.0-RELEASE 76 help?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ploppy, Nov 22, 2006.

  1. ploppy

    ploppy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello. Firstly, here are the specs of the system that we are running:

    The problem has presented itself when this update was done. Prior to this update, we were running the STABLE version of cPanel with no problems.

    The story is, our hosting company had a problem with one of it,s peer networks Not sure what) and once the connection was re-established we received a mail saying that they had updated cPanel to the above version and restarted MySQL. The problem is that whenever PHP tries to communicate with the MySQL server to create or read databse info, the PHP halts but dosen't throw up any errors. It just shows white background in browser and halts. Can anyone point me in the right direction to troubleshoot this problem. Hosting company are offering no help at all and this has now escalated from our customers point of view. Thanks for your time.

    Peter.
     
  2. katmai

    katmai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    if they upgraded mysql, a recompilation of the apache webserver would need to happen in order for it to work.

    php 4.4.4 is fairly good.
     
  3. ploppy

    ploppy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thank you for reply. is there a way of telling from either WHM or cPanel wether the hosting company upgraded MySQL. In the root directory, there is a directory MySQL-install which is dated yesterday. Also, can apache be recompiled throught WHM. many thanks.
     
  4. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I think you meant to say that PHP must be recompiled to use the updated MySQl libraries ;)
     
  5. ploppy

    ploppy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    can that be done through WHM stefaans or SSH? is it rpm install? Thx
     
  6. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    In SSH, you would do /scripts/easyapache. In WHM you can do the exact same thing with Apache Update (under the Software heading). Be sure to select the PHP Module option, else PHP will not be recompiled. Also select the Use System MySQL to force the PHP compilation to be done with your current (recently updated) MySQL libraries.

    While you are at it, maybe also unselect the Skip Apache Build if up to date option to ensure that Apache is also rebuilt. It will add only a few more minutes to the process.

    Ploppy, you are in a tough spot right now. I hope this helps ;)
     
  7. ploppy

    ploppy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    stefaans. thank you ever so much. worked a treat. i am suprised however, that the hosting co never rebuilt apache/php after installing libs. they are after all the PROS :) once gain, thank you.
     
  8. ploppy

    ploppy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    just one more questiom. now the https is very slowwwwww! would this problem effected anything there? It takes ages to connect to cpanel or WHM. is there a way to test the ssl connection? thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page