The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel update causing Fp publishing problems?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by neilogden, Jun 27, 2007.

  1. neilogden

    neilogden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There seems to have been a cPanel update recently (in th4e last couple of days). When using FP to publish, I get the error "An error occurred accessing your Front Page web files". My host has submitted a support ticket. Just wondered if anyone is epxeriencing the same problem?
     
  2. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are using Apache2 (maybe available in edge/current?), then FrontPage won't work anymore. Otherwise, if you still have Apache1, try simply reinstalling FrontPage extensions with WHM.

    On another note, Microsoft killed frontpage in December. So, your time left with Frontpage extensions is limited anyway. If you are using Frontpage 2003, you can start using WebDav instead of FPExtensions while still using Frontpage 2003, although Frontpage will not be updated or supported by Microsoft anymore.
     
  3. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In addition to the current releases for Apache 2 related software no longer supporting
    Frontpage anymore, many of the latest security patches and updates for most of the
    Linux and BSD based operating systems will also now interfere with or just flat kill
    off Frontpage functionality.

    Frontpage was officially declared dead in July 2006 and people everywhere had until
    December 2006 to stop using it and should not be using it at all anymore and
    software writers no longer need to be concerned with maintaining compatibility since
    Frontpage is no longer being manufactured, distributed, updated, or supported
    by Microsoft anymore and nobody is supposed to be using it anymore!

    You can continue to try to run Frontpage Extensions for as long as you are able
    but you are basically on your own on this as there is no more support and no
    guarantees that your system would still be capable of running Frontpage given
    the status of the latest OS and software updates.

    Microsoft has released a new program to fill the gap left by Frontpage and the
    new product operates on a more standardized system called "WebDAV" instead
    of using the old Frontpage Extensions which as said above are now obsolete.
     
  4. swampy

    swampy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi thanks for the info please can you tell me how do i turn webdav on in the server

    Thanks
     
  5. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For WebDav, you need to updated to CPanel 11 or 11.5+, i'm not sure what update tree this is in (I use CURRENT). Then, switch to X3 theme, and under FILES, there is a configuration where you setup users and passwords. The main domain username and password will already be activated. Then, using FrontPage 2003, there is an option inside that program to use webdav instead of frontpage extensions when you are connecting.
     
  6. swampy

    swampy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi thanks for your reply i am unable to find anything that says webdav but there is webdisk is this what you are refering to.


    Mark
     
  7. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is correct. Webdisk is CPanel's version of WebDav. They are the same thing.
     
  8. swampy

    swampy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have just tried this using ms expression but all i get is an error when trying to connect the error is this is not a folder

    I have tried using /foldername at the end bit it then says the the folder does not exist do i want to create it but the folder is there it is a subdomain

    I have also tried to connect to the main account but i still get the same error message.

    I did have frontpage installed on that account but i have removed it.

    Any help please

    Thanks

    Mark
     
  9. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have a firewall on the server? If so I bet you have webdav ports blocked. You need to allow TCP and UDP 2077 and 2078 (on your own computer as well). You should be able to browse, with your internet browser, to http://YOURDOMAIN.COM:2077 and http://YOURDOMAIN.COM:2078

    Until those two things return your directory listing, then something is blocking it.
     
  10. swampy

    swampy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can access it normally but not with ms expression

    Mark
     
  11. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What do you mean by "normally"? Did you go to both of those links WITH the port number at the end? Unless you can successfully visit those links, your problems are not with ms expression.
     
  12. swampy

    swampy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes i can go to both of them with no problems

    mark
     
  13. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That proves your server is setup properly. Have you tried logging in without specifying a subdomain?
     
  14. swampy

    swampy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes and i have tried with and without a / at the end but ms expression just displays an error saying this is not a folder

    Mark
     
  15. az_wraith

    az_wraith Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  16. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    #16 jandafields, Jul 7, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2007
  17. swampy

    swampy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi i have checked the bugzilla and it says it is working now im on current WHM 11.2.0 cPanel 11.6.1-C15297 CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0 and i am still getting the error not a folder in ms expression i have also tried frontpage 2003 and it logs in but the right pane is blank and when i try to either upload or download i get an error

    am i doing something wrong

    Mark
     
  18. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  19. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Anyone know how to edit a file on webdisk or use Save As in any program and save to webdisk?

    Is it just not possible? Do we really have to drag and drop? (that's alot like FTP isnt it?)
     
  20. LP-Tim

    LP-Tim Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just to be clear on this, this WebDAV thing is for FP2003 only, and users of FP prior to v2003 are simply out of luck?
     
Loading...

Share This Page