The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel update failure during updatenow

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ericwoo, Mar 16, 2015.

  1. ericwoo

    ericwoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've been having this problem for awhile and have no idea how to fix it. Can anyway head me in the right direction? We get these emails often. See below:

    Cpanel update failure during updatenow

    Code:
    [20150315.013202]  Detected version '11.34.2.8' from version file.
    [20150315.013202] W version explicitly hardcoded to CPANEL=11.36.2.12 in /var/cpanel/5336.SR_LOCAL_CPANEL_SCRIPTS_UPDATENOW_STATIC__.0Nz84cWcx7NFd1vG.tmp
    [20150315.013202]  Checking license
    [20150315.013205]  License file check complete
    [20150315.013205]  Checking that the RPM DB is OK...
    [20150315.013205]  glibc-2.5-118.el5_10.2
    [20150315.013205]  glibc-2.5-118.el5_10.2
    [20150315.013205]  OK: RPM DB is responding to queries
    [20150315.013205]  Testing if rpm_is_working RPM is installed
    [20150315.013205]  package rpm_is_working is not installed
    [20150315.013205]  Testing if it's possible to install a simple RPM
    [20150315.013205]  Preparing...  ##################################################
    [20150315.013205]  rpm_is_working  ##################################################
    [20150315.013205]  Switching to version '11.36.2.12' of updatenow to perform sync.
    [20150315.013206]  All Needed RPMS are installed.
    [20150315.013206]  Staging 11.36.2.12 cpanelsync files prior to updating /usr/local/cpanel
    [20150315.013206]  Staging x3 theme changes
    [20150315.013206]  Retrieving and staging /cpanelsync/11.36.2.12/x3/.cpanelsync.bz2
    [20150315.013206]  Using mirror: 75.126.236.226
    [20150315.013207]  Staging files for x3
    [20150315.013207]  Retrieving and staging /cpanelsync/11.36.2.12/x3/addon/donoredirect.html.bz2
    [20150315.013207]  Retrieving and staging /cpanelsync/11.36.2.12/x3/js/interfacereset_optimized.js.gz
    [20150315.013207]  Retrieving and staging /cpanelsync/11.36.2.12/x3/cpanelpro/filelist-thumbs.html.bz2
     
    #1 ericwoo, Mar 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 17, 2015
  2. 24x7ss

    24x7ss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Logs you provided is no clear. Can you provide me little bit information about your server. Like which version of apache, Mysql and PHP you are using.

    Also, if cpanel/WHM update is failing then login to WHM and at top right side you will get cpanel update failure error message. It will guide you to the exact error why it is not updating.
     
  3. kamall

    kamall Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bethune France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello Their
    Please try this via ssh /scripts/upcp --force
    It will fix Or try via ssh /scripts/easyapache

    Kamall

     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your cPanel & WHM installation is pinned to version 11.36. We haven't supported 11.36 in more than a year. I recommend you:

    1. You log into WHM as root
    2. Click Update Preferences
    3. Click the RELEASE tier
    4. Save

    Once that is done run upcp to upgrade.

    Update: doing the above will upgrade your install to 11.48. Prepare for a lot of new features :)
     
  5. ericwoo

    ericwoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My Update Preferences were already set to Release. How do I connect to SSH? I have been trying to do this for awhile and still don't know how. I have Putty.

    Is there an alternate way? I tried the "Update Server Software" and it is still at WHM 11.34.2 (build 8)
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,807
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The following document should help you get started with SSH/Shell access:

    Shell Access

    Do you notice any error messages when running "/scripts/upcp --force" from the command line?

    Thank you.
     
  7. ericwoo

    ericwoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you! I am already stuck at step 7 when I login as root. It is saying "Access Denied."

    If this helps, it is saying "Using keyboard-interactive authentication". Any ideas?
     
  8. ericwoo

    ericwoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ok, so I tried following the second set of instructions to login with a public key also and still no luck.

    It is saying this: Server refused public-key signature despite accepting key!
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,807
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Is the "WHM Home »Security Center » SSH Password Authorization Tweak" option enabled in WHM? If so, you may want to temporarily disable it so you can try to authenticate with the root password. Also, have you made changes to your SSH configuration in the past? If not, I suggest contacting your hosting provider or data center for assistance with accessing your server over SSH.

    Thank you.
     
  10. ericwoo

    ericwoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it was enabled. I tried disabling it also and still having problems. As far as SSH configuration changes, I have been importing and deleting keys to try many different variations of tests to connect.

    This is a dedicated server and the provider says they only provide support for hardware. Is there any way the cpanel folks can see if they can connect via SSH if I give them the WHM login?

    I am really running out of options here.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,807
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can try resetting your SSH configuration from Web Host Manager with the following URL:

    Code:
    https://IP:2087/cpsess12345678/scripts2/doautofixer?autofix=safesshrestart
    You would replace "IP" with the server's IP address and the session number with what's displayed in your address bar. Note that this is simply a temporary instance of SSH. You will have to login and modify the /etc/ssh/sshd_config file when you have temporary SSH access to ensure it's running properly from that point on.

    Thank you.
     
  12. ericwoo

    ericwoo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You rock! That did it. For some reason, it said that port 22 was already in use and configuring sshd to run on port 23.
    Got right in after that. Then I removed the rogue file by typing: rpm -e mysql-5.0.77-4.el5_6.6.i386

    Ran the upgrade and it finally worked! Thank you so much
     
  13. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should be concerned about this. Figure out what's listening on port 22
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,807
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's actually normal for this to happen when running the SSH autofixer. It detects that SSH is already running on port 22, so it starts the new temporary instance on port 23. Restarting the SSH service after making the changes will stop the temporary instance.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page