The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel update issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dchen, Sep 27, 2015.

  1. dchen

    dchen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello, I received this error when cPanel tries to update itself. Can anyone please advice on how to fix this:

    Code:
    'httpupdate.cpanel.net'.
    [2015-09-27 00:16:26 -0400] Successfully verified signature for cpanel (key types: release).
    [2015-09-27 00:16:26 -0400] Maximum sync children set to 1 based on 1239M available memory.
    [2015-09-27 00:16:26 -0400] Staging files for x3mail
    [2015-09-27 00:16:27 -0400] Staging cpanel changes
    [2015-09-27 00:16:27 -0400] Retrieving and staging /cpanelsync/11.50.1.3/binaries/linux-c6-x86_64/.cpanelsync.bz2
    [2015-09-27 00:16:27 -0400] Using mirror '208.74.125.42' for host 'httpupdate.cpanel.net'.
    [2015-09-27 00:16:28 -0400] Successfully verified signature for cpanel (key types: release).
    [2015-09-27 00:16:28 -0400] Retrieving and staging /cpanelsync/11.50.1.3/cpanel/.cpanelsync.bz2
    [2015-09-27 00:16:29 -0400] Successfully verified signature for cpanel (key types: release).
    [2015-09-27 00:16:29 -0400] Maximum sync children set to 1 based on 1217M available memory.
    [2015-09-27 00:16:29 -0400] Staging files for binaries/linux-c6-x86_64
    [2015-09-27 00:17:57 -0400] ***** FATAL: Failed to stage “cpanel changes” because of an error: Read failed: Input/output error at /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenow.static-cpanelsync line 41205.
    [2015-09-27 00:17:57 -0400] The Administrator will be notified to review this output when this script completes
    => Log closed Sun Sep 27 00:17:57 2015
    [2015-09-27 00:17:58 -0400] 17% complete
    [2015-09-27 00:17:58 -0400] E Running `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenow --upcp --log=/var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.1443327234.log --force` failed, exited with code 12 (signal = 0)
    
    
    Thanks,
    -D

    Additional info. I have manually ran /scripts/upcp --force command and same result. This error has been persist for several days now since the WHM is set to auto update. If it is mirror error, then it still not working.
     
    #1 dchen, Sep 27, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2015
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    1. check you disk space
    df -h
    df -i
    cpanel should block the update if your out of disk space but I would check it just the same


    2. Check your file system for corruption hence the error "Input/output error"
    run a manual fsck on your drive partitions
     
  3. dchen

    dchen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. I don't have problem with disk space. However, when I ran fsck /dev/sda1 or other, I got this:

    fsck /dev/sdb1
    fsck from util-linux-ng 2.17.2
    e2fsck 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
    /dev/sdb1 is mounted.
    e2fsck: Cannot continue, aborting.

    Do you think this caused my problems?

    Thank you,
    -D
     
  4. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No you can't run a FSCK on a mounted partition.

    You would need to run 'umount' but this can be very bad since its more than likely your root partition. If you have errors, I would check the following log files.
    Code:
    # dmesg
    # cat /var/log/messages | less
    They may have some indication of disk errors, etc.
     
  5. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Indeed you need to umount the partition first
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    This is typically the result of hard drive errors. Check /var/log/messages when this happens to see if you notice any particular output. You could also use "strace" on the upcp process if you are comfortable doing so to see which file is not readable:

    Code:
    strace -ff -T -tt -v -s 1024 -o /root/upcp.output /scripts/upcp
    The output is then readable at /root/upcp.output for investigation.

    Thank you.
     
  7. dchen

    dchen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. I tried your command and got the same result as before:

    Code:
    [2015-10-03 13:40:03 -0400]   Staging files for binaries/linux-c6-x86_64
    [2015-10-03 13:44:27 -0400] ***** FATAL: Failed to stage “cpanel changes” because of an error: Read failed: Input/output error at /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenow.static-cpanelsync line 41205.
    [2015-10-03 13:44:27 -0400]   The Administrator will be notified to review this output when this script completes
    => Log closed Sat Oct  3 13:44:27 2015
    [2015-10-03 13:44:30 -0400]   17% complete
    [2015-10-03 13:44:30 -0400] E Running `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/updatenow --upcp --log=/var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.1443893944.log` failed, exited with code 12 (signal = 0)
    => Log closed Sat Oct  3 13:44:39 2015
    
    I have asked hosting company to check for disk errors. All they did was to power cycle the server.

    Best,
    -Dong
     
    #7 dchen, Oct 3, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2015
  8. dchen

    dchen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I looked at the line 41205:
    Code:
    sub _get_checksum_lib {
        my ( $self, $digest, $file, $size ) = @_;
    
        my $ctx = $digest eq 'sha' ? Digest::SHA->new(512) : Digest::MD5->new();
        my $hash;
    
        if ( open( my $fh, '<', $file ) ) {
    
            if ( $ctx->addfile($fh) ) {
                $hash = $ctx->hexdigest();
            }
            else {
                $hash = '';
                $self->{'logger'}->error("Unable to read file ($file) to validate it's signature!");
                $self->{'logger'}->set_need_notify();
            }
        }
        else {
            $hash = '';
            $self->{'logger'}->error("Unable to open $file to get it's checksum: $!");
            $self->{'logger'}->error( "Stat: " . `stat '$file'` );    #give more debug info
            $self->{'logger'}->set_need_notify();
            return '';
        }
    
        return $hash;
    }
    
    
    What is wrong with $hash? It is just a variable.

    Best,
    -D
     
    #8 dchen, Oct 3, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2015
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  10. dchen

    dchen Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you. I just submitted a support request.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page