The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel Update Preferences

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chrisos, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. chrisos

    chrisos Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I had set my cPanel (version 11.30.6 build 6) Update Preferences to:

    Release Tier: Stable
    Daily Updates: Do not update cPanel and WHM Automatically
    cPanel Package Updates: Manual Updates Only
    - bandmin, dovecot, exim, ftp, mysql, python all set to Inherit
    - courier, nsd set to never
    Operating System Package Updates: Manual Updates Only
    SpamAssassin Rules Updates: Manual Updates Only

    However overnight the cPanel was updated to 11.32.2 build 24.

    1) Under what situation will cPanel updated automatically even when I have all the settings set to manual updates?

    2) Will cPanel updates affect these settings above? Because after the update they were all set to Daily updates and automatic.

    Is it possible that cPanel was configured for no updates and instead update and change the settings?

    Thanks in advance for your assistance
     
  2. JayFromEpic

    JayFromEpic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is just how the update is designed. When a new release is moved to a new tier, it is automatically updated to be equivalent to that tier.
     
  3. chrisos

    chrisos Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks for your quick reply.

    So I understand that no matter what my settings, they will be overwritten when cPanel is updated.

    But how would cPanel be updated, if all the settings say manual updating? Am I missing the purpose of setting the preferences to manual updates?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,675
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Actually, if you had automatic updates disabled, cPanel should have only been updated to the new version if you ran the "upcp" command manually. EX:

    # /scripts/upcp --force

    Otherwise, the update should not have occured. It's possible your update preferences were not properly saved. In cPanel 11.32, you can browse to:

    "WHM >> Server Configuration >> Update Preferences"

    "cPanel and WHM Updates" can be set to "Never Update" or "Manual Updates Only" to avoid automatic updates.

    Thank you.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To clarify, third party scripts sometimes force cPanel updates by means of running /scripts/upcp (a manual update). If you set your update preferences to Never, then an update (even if triggered automatically by a third party script or manually from the command-line) will not occur.

    That's why we introduced the "Never" setting in addition to the preexisting "Manual" setting several years ago.
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You might check the logs at /var/cpanel/updatelogs folder to see if you can get any details on what ran at the time of that update. If the force command was passed, it should show up toward the beginning of the log with something like the following in that log:

     
Loading...

Share This Page