The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel Version?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Zhen-Xjell, Mar 1, 2002.

  1. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, I'm new to cpanel on the back end, although I've used it for some time as an end user. I did a quick search in this forum before posting, but couldn't find anything. Here goes..

    As I'm logging into cpanel, it states the version is 4.x. Once I log in, the logo says CPanel3. How do I know what version of Cpanel is really running?

    BTW, I stepped into this, another admin was taking care of it, now I am.

    Help?

    Redhat is the OS.
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    change directories to /usr/local/cpanel
    and run the core cpanel binary ...

    &./cpanel&

    it will tell you the percise version # and build
     
  3. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for replying, this is what I get (domain name spoofed in this post):

    root@carrots [/usr/local/cpanel]# ./cpanel
    Content-type: text/html
    Cache-Control: no-cache
    Pragma: no-cache

    &!---cpanel4 [4.4.0-STABLE_190] Copyright (c) 1997-2001 John N Koston. Licensed on carrots.bugsbunny.com ---&
    root@carrots [/usr/local/cpanel]#

    So it says 4.4.0-STABLE_190, yet the CPanel logo once logged in says CPanel 3. Is this normal?
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Normal yes.
    The default theme as far as graphics reads CPanel3 everywhere...... but what you've just done shows you what version of the software is actually running behind the scenes.
     
  5. Zhen-Xjell

    Zhen-Xjell Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, perfect.

    One quick OT question.. I have a question about pgp in cpanel not working. Shall I call you guys or just ask here?
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Probably want to ask around here- that feature is *very* new and you'll probably want some input on how that was implemented by Darkorb, advice on how to best utilize it, etc....
     
Loading...

Share This Page