The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel VPS doesnt work?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nibb, Jun 25, 2008.

  1. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    OK this is the second time I do this. Im not sure what is wrong. I licensed a Cpanel VPS for my main ip. Do i have to upload a license to the server or do anything else? I ask this because i installed Cpanel on a VPS twice and it doesnt work.

    I make all corrects partitions on Xen. I then make sure with a yum erase ** that there is not php, mysql, etc. On the CenOS install i select only server install with DNS, Development libraries, editors and something more and nothing else. I run the cpanel install sh. It runs well. Cpanel installs itself in 20 minutes or so without any single error. I then check the server and i see apache and allot of new services running but when i type my domain url its dead. Then i try WHM and its also dead. No respond at all. Cpanel even detects its a vps and optimized, i really dont think the install goes wrong. I rebooted my server and executed "service cpanel start" it starts 3 or 4 things. "service http starts" doesnt do nothing. No errors too. What is happening? I think Cpanel is not working at all on my VPS or its a license thing? Install is so easy and it doesnt ask me a single thing. It does all by itself so what is getting wrong here?
     
  2. MACscr

    MACscr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    try it with the vps ip versus the domain url
     
  3. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thats was the first thing i did. It doesnt load anything.

    I even executed:
    /usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt

    And it updated something.

    The license i checked with CP and is valid.

    What could this be? How come a brand new install out of the box is not working at all? The only think I imagine i could hae done wrong is:
    1. I created an incorrect partition
    2. I installed the OS when something missing that Cpanel installer was looking

    As for installing cpanel itself that is just to hit "sh lastest" and nothing more. So or its an human error in my side or this is a bug with XenServer where Cpanel doesnt want to run.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are there any entries in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log ?
     
  5. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It was IPTABLES !!!!

    I dont understand this. Did Cpanel installed IPtables and locked himself out?

    I turned it off and now it works.

    Should I uninstall this or turn it off permanently or just add the default ports to it? I thought Cpanel had his own firewall, if so i prefer to configure it from Cpanel directly or is it fine to leave it so it works with cpanel?

    I created a Ticket about his so please close that one.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel does not bundle firewall software, manipulate firewall software or install firewall software.

    For a list of ports that should remain open on a firewall in a cPanel/WHM environment, please visit: http://blog.cpanel.net/?cat=8
     
  7. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I was looking actually at this one:
    http://faq.cpanel.net/show.cgi?qa=104689180407630

    Which is more current? Or is best just to turn it off completely. If Cpanel installer did not installed this then it was a default in CentOS installation. Gladly the installer did run with firewall on.
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The FAQs sometimes become outdated, I recommend looking at the blog entry instead.
     
  9. nibb

    nibb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks David. I will then proceed and install my second VPS now that i know where problem relies.
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That FAQ entry is still current, it simply lists the ports the Admin needs to ensure are open to allow communication with the various services. The installer, whether for VPS Optimized or the standard version, does not change the iptables setup.

    During installation, it only matters whether or not the installer can fetch files remotely, typically over port 80. It's somewhat common for firewalls to have default settings that allow all outbound traffic, but little to no inbound traffic.
     
Loading...

Share This Page