The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel VPS Optimized

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gavint, May 29, 2008.

  1. gavint

    gavint Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Hi,

    I'm a bit concerned about the following after an auto-upgrade of our servers to VPS optimized...

    "Conserve Memory at the expense of using more cpu/diskio" is now ticked on all our Xen servers where it wasn't ticked before. It's still off on our physical cPanel servers.

    This is probably a good idea on servers with 512MB of RAM or less, and we were using it already on a couple.

    However... we have one VPS for a customer with 2GB of RAM that can have massive spikes in traffic and on this server I want the RAM usage up and the CPU usage down (heavy PHP/MySQL site)...

    Fine you say, untick the box. Well if I untick the box and submit, when I go back in to "Tweak Settings" it's ticked again.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

    Gavin
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That Tweak Setting works fine for me when I untick it on a Xen test machine. What is the output from Tweak Settings when you untick it?
     
  3. gavint

    gavint Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Hi,

    =============
    Tweak Settings have been updated
    Your changes have been saved.

    Restarting cPanel daemons ... Done
    Updating your system to reflect any changes ...

    Done.
    =============

    No errors, but go back in and it's ticked again.
     
  4. jnetsurfer

    jnetsurfer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same issue here. Any other way to disable this? I believe it's killing one of my servers which has 3.6 GB of RAM and previously was running great.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recommend submitting a support ticket so we can determine why this is happening on your servers and resolve this issue for you: http://tickets.cpanel.net/submit
     
  6. jnetsurfer

    jnetsurfer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks David.
     
Loading...

Share This Page