Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

CPANEL WEB INTERFACE LOGIN

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vikas, Dec 4, 2002.

  1. vikas

    vikas Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Is there a way to have a web interface login for cpanel like hotmail.com front page instead of the dialog box that displays the users name and password.

    Is there some way to pass on the users name and password to the cpanel (actually .htaccess) users name and password box.


    Thanks for all your help.


    PB
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. vikas

    vikas Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    NOT SECURE.

    Is there a more secure way, it shows the users name and password which I don't want it too.

    Password in particular, its a bad idea to do it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Use SSL....

    &https://$user:$password@domain.com:2083&
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Whether you use SSL or not, its still going to cache your username and password.. its not secure either way.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Even when you use the normal login, the password is cached, phpinfo for example shows the password in clear text as REMOTE_PASSWORD
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It was my understanding that by using the .htacces method, which is the normal way, once the Browser or all open Browser windows have been closed, the ID & PW are not saved in Browser History -- as they are by any other means of access.

    So once closed and upon restarting the Browser, although the URL is retained in Browser History the ID & PW are not -- which they probably would be using any other means of access, other then .htaccess.

    This problem and what is described above, also apply to both Web based Email programs and is something to be mentioned to all Clients.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. ehsan

    ehsan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    post it to frame!
    it won't show password in IE bar then.

    if that is the case...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    But you can still break out of frames.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Other than using .htaccess, there really is no other safe method for accessing the CP. If, for whatever reason, one wants to by-pass that safeguard, then install a 3rd party File Mgr. script and be done with it.

    By-passing the CP altogether is much safer than trying to by-pass the safeguards used, for accessing the CP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. eldar

    eldar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    I want to do this too...I had hoped to be able to reboot my servers from my cell phone, but the .htaccess method kills my phone browser...
     
  11. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    ahhh that is but a simple issue ...

    just write a wap page that has it's own authentication methods and then link to a reboot script :P
     
  12. iain-pczap.net

    iain-pczap.net Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Quoting:
    --------------------------------------------------------------
    sure create a script that passes:

    http://$user:$pass@domain.com:2082

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    I'm a little thick...any chance of someone telling me how to do this? :$ - embarassed smiley
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice