Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

CPanel - Webmail Firewall Port Problem

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by takethishost, Sep 21, 2005.

  1. takethishost

    takethishost Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I tried to access my mail via a web browser by going to www.abc.com/webmail

    While this works from some places, I can't access it from behind the firewall at my office as we limit http traffic to the standard http and https ports. Webmail seems to rely on port 2032? is this correct?

    Can this be changed? in WHM? or can it be configured to another port?

    Is there a reason why webmail has to be restricted in this way? it's a pain for webmail.

    Any ideas/suggestions?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    the webmail port is 2095 and 2096 for secure version.

    it cannot be changed.

    what you could do:

    1. install a squirrelmail in a folder in your public_html, and that way you can access it using the standard port 80
    2. search for some script called cpanel proxy if i remeber correctly, might help you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. takethishost

    takethishost Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Yeah tried cpanel proxy but not stable enough and doesn't work well ... any other alternatives?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jogjabox

    jogjabox Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    cpanel proxy is stable for me and my users..
     
  6. abubin

    abubin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    ah..someone should do a howto on this and sticky it. I see this question being asked like everyweek.

    Anyway, besides the 2 solutions given, you have a third solution :

    http://www.nnexxezz.com/hbridge

    This is what i am using now and it's totally awesome because you can customize your own login page making it looks like your own webmail.
     
  7. takethishost

    takethishost Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thank you abubin.

    We did install it and configured it, working excellent :) ...

    Well done.

    You should do a sticky I guess ...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. surebrowse

    surebrowse Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    India
    Hi,

    Any solutions like hbridge for SquirrelMail??
     
  9. furquan

    furquan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I have been trying to confirgure Hbridge for Cpanel, but after trying to log in i get 404 page not found.

    Does any one have an how to on this

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. zaphodbb

    zaphodbb Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    The developer of Hbridge has ceased working on it.

    Also, it (hbridge) no longer works (cPanel & Horde have changed a little) and all you get is an invalid login message.

    See the threads on the developer's support forum (here).
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice