Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Cpanel/ Whm not working after fresh installation

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by itajooba, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. itajooba

    itajooba Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hi,
    after fresh installation in our CentOS Server and following all the steps in Quick Start Installation Guide
    We can not get https://$IP:2087.

    however we got cPanel Layer 2 Install Complete after following above steps without any error ?
    do anyone have any idea ? what went wrong ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. garrettp

    garrettp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    CentOS has default iptables (firewall) rules that block access to cPanel ports out of the box. You can flush them with `iptables -F` and also remove them from /etc/sysconfig/iptables to prevent them from coming back on a system reboot or service restart.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. itajooba

    itajooba Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Thank You

    Great it worked like charmed !!! thank you
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. itajooba

    itajooba Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ok,

    Things come back when i restarted the server i have to again remove the IP from firewall, is there anyway from where i can permentely remove th IP from firewall so even after restart the server keep whm working.

    Regards,
    Shashi Kant
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    193
    What garrettp told you should take care of all that unless you have another firewall script pre-installed somewhere that is resetting iptables such as APF, CSF, or some other (a couple of data centers have their own proprietary scripts).

    The "iptables -F" temporarily flushes iptables

    The "rm -f -- /etc/sysconfig/iptables" removes the entries permanently

    Don't forget to restart "service iptables restart ; service cpanel restart"

    If you reboot and get the blocks back then you got something else going on and I would say you have some other firewall script active or you are on an old traditional VPS server (Eeeewww! :rolleyes:) and they got you setup to load a standard image at each boot. In the later case, your only recourse outside of moving would be to setup a script to auto make the changes you need after each reboot.

    You can always disable iptables temporarily till you finish getting Cpanel installed which incidentally is a whole lot more than just simply running http://layer1.cpanel.net/latest which would be only about 1% of what all you need to do to get Cpanel up and running properly.

    Regarding what I just said:
    Code:
    service iptables stop
    chkconfig iptables off
    
    (NOTE: I absolutely do not recommend that be used for anything permanent!)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice