The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel & WHM on Apple iTouch

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Joeln, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. Joeln

    Joeln Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I am going to order a Apple iTouch or Nokia N810.

    Can somoene who owns a Itouch let me know if they are able to use the cPanel and WHM interfaces without any problems?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Cemtey

    Cemtey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've tried with nokia 6230i and 6230 models but WHM and cPanel are more likely ment for Computers then Mobiles. Meybe you could post it up as idea for future updates.
    Result I've got was 50 - 50. I was able to get near some configuration but in other way wasn't able to get near everything. I tried usual Mobile web browsing. Meybe newer Mobile models have better chance getting through since they've got all kind of new software on them.
     
  3. Joeln

    Joeln Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, I think the N810 would be best suited as the browser has much better support than the iTouch. Also you can put SSH software on the N810 so you can ssh to your vps or whatever host you might need to.

    If anyone out there has tried using these with an iTouch please let me know :)
     
  4. darren.nolan

    darren.nolan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use my Telstra i-mate JasJam for your suggested reasons. Emails mostly, but I do have putty installed on it if I'm ever away from my laptop (god forbid). I'll check cPanel/WHM now. Never tried it :S

    Look at that - frames work. And I can adjust these frames. Woot.

    Now - to my understanding the Apple iTouch behaves much the same as my PDA when getting on the internet and viewing things (my mate has one and he's forever playing with it). Something to note however, is that neither have good/poper Java support, so in places where you type a domain name and your screen guesses what you type (sometimes annoying) - unexpected results may occur.

    On my phone - those sorts of features (and the find feature in the menu bar) simply don't work.
     
  5. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    WHM does uses frames and that's not mobile friendly.
    Maybe in the future anybody interested require a wap version. :)
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A WAP friendly version has been in the works for a while now. You can find a bug report for the WAP interface at:

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=3479

    As for accessing the WHM interface on a browser that doesn't support frames, there is an entry on the FAQ:

     
  7. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    Well, this didn't work for me. I pointed to the corresponding url in my server and obtained an error 500. May I need to install "anything" before? :(
     
  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It works much better on the iphone/itouch then on the 810
     
  9. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hey, it worked ok! I just forgot to use https

    Although, the menu icons open in a popup window. Does that work fine in a wap environment?
     
    #9 Kent Brockman, Mar 10, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2008
  10. rligg

    rligg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is there a wap friendly skin for end users? Soory I didn't realize there was a mobile skin. So how does cpanel know to serve this skin up if on a mobile?
     
    #10 rligg, Feb 23, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2010
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We bundle the mobile theme (automatically selected when an end user browses to cPanel using their mobile phone). However, it's stripped down HTML with minimal use of JS rather than WAP.
     
  12. rligg

    rligg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's not bad. I just used it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page