Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

“cPanel & WHM update failure in upcp script” persists after forced update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jim Ratliff, Jan 1, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Jim Ratliff

    Jim Ratliff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Oakland CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Subject: “cPanel & WHM update failure in upcp script” persists after forced update

    I received an email from my server tonight that:
    I reviewed the log and the last activity before the Post Maintenance message was:
    Code:
    Processing: Updating plugins data cache
     - Processing command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/refresh_plugin_cache`
     - Finished command `/usr/local/cpanel/bin/refresh_plugin_cache` in 0.016 seconds
    95% complete
    Anticipating next steps, I executed both:
    Code:
    yum update
    /scripts/upcp --force
    However, I once again got the same “cPanel & WHM update failure in upcp script” email from the server. The log showed that it once again got only as far as the refresh_plugin_cache command at 95% complete.

    I assume this was unrelated, but I did discover something puzzling to me in the log: It's complaining that my hostname ("sierra") isn't valid, even though WHM never complained when I chose it to begin with:
    Code:
    Processing: Validating server hostname”, I see
       Processing: Validating server hostname
    - Processing command `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname --notify`
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname] Changing hostname to sierra...Failed!
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname]
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname] sierra is not a valid hostname
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname] Warnings were seen during rename:
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname]
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname] Please refer to RFCs 952 and 1123 to determine valid hostname.
    - Finished command `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname --notify` in 3.397 seconds
    Any ideas on how to take it from 95% complete to 100% complete?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,502
    Likes Received:
    1,616
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    First, it looks like you need to update your hostname to a fully-qualified domain name (e.g. server.domain.tld) using "WHM >> Change Hostname". As far as the cPanel update error, could you run the command below and let us know the output?

    Code:
    awk '$4=="E"' /var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.xxxxxxxxxx.log
    Thank you.
     
  3. Jim Ratliff

    Jim Ratliff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Oakland CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks! I entered:
    Code:
    awk '$4=="E"' /var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.xxxxxxxxxx.log
    and got this response:

    Code:
    ~ jim$ awk '$4=="E"' /var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.xxxxxxxxxx.log
    awk: can't open file /var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.xxxxxxxxxx.log
     source line number 1
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,502
    Likes Received:
    1,616
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Jim,

    I apologize, I should have mentioned that you need to replace "update.xxxxxxxxxx.log" with the name of the most recent update log in the /var/cpanel/updatelogs/ directory.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Jim Ratliff

    Jim Ratliff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Oakland CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, Michael. This looks promisingly informative:
    Code:
    E    [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/fixetchosts] The “/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/fixetchosts” command (process 10320) reported error number 255 when it ended.
    E Post Maintenance ended, however it did not exit cleanly (256). Please check the logs for an indication of what happened
    
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,502
    Likes Received:
    1,616
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    That shows the cPanel update is failing when it attempts to run the following command:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/fixetchosts
    Could you run that command manually after updating the server's hostname using "WHM >> Change Hostname" and let us know if it still fails?

    Thank you.
     
  7. Jim Ratliff

    Jim Ratliff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Oakland CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, Michael! I changed the hostname to a FQDN. Then I entered:
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/fixetchosts
    It immediately returned with no errors or anything else. I assume that means that the command worked.

    Thanks, again. I appreciate your quick and on-target help!
     
  8. Jim Ratliff

    Jim Ratliff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Oakland CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm surprised that WHM accepted my defective hostname in the first place, however.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,502
    Likes Received:
    1,616
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can also run the "/scripts/upcp" command to confirm the cPanel update process completes successfully. If this is a VPS on the OpenVZ/Virtuozzo platform, you may also want to review the following thread:

    SOLVED - Hostname resets on reboot

    Thank you.
     
  10. Jim Ratliff

    Jim Ratliff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Oakland CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Michael, the "/scripts/upcp" command is still failing with an error for fixetchosts:
    Code:
    E    [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/fixetchosts] The “/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/fixetchosts” command (process 6810) reported error number 255 when it ended.
    E Post Maintenance ended, however it did not exit cleanly (256). Please check the logs for an indication of what happened
     
  11. Jim Ratliff

    Jim Ratliff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Oakland CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Updating my last post…

    For some reason, it's still complaining about my hostname. About 10 hours ago, I changed the hostname to a FQDN (sierra.mydomain.org) and I received a "Hostname change status" email confirming it:
    Now however the log produced by "/scripts/upcp" still shows:
    Code:
    Processing: Validating server hostname
    - Processing command `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname --notify`
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname] Changing hostname to sierra...Failed!
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname]
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname] sierra is not a valid hostname
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname] Warnings were seen during rename:
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname]
      [/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname] Please refer to RFCs 952 and 1123 to determine valid hostname.
    - Finished command `/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_valid_server_hostname --notify` in 0.128 seconds
    
     
    #11 Jim Ratliff, Jan 2, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2018
  12. Jim Ratliff

    Jim Ratliff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Oakland CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I re-changed the hostname and ran "/scripts/upcp" and this time it went through to 100% completion without complaining about the hostname. In WHM » Change Hostname, I've verified that the new/correct hostname has stuck. (Somehow it reverted previously.)

    So… I think I'm fine now.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,502
    Likes Received:
    1,616
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  14. Jim Ratliff

    Jim Ratliff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Oakland CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, Michael! Your earlier link to the "Hostname resets on reboot" was enlightening. Because it requires a VPS-level change, I outsourced that to my host. My reboot will be the test!
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page