Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel & WHM update failure in upcp script

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bloke2, Nov 14, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Bloke2

    Bloke2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got the following email message. Is this something I need to fix?
    "Maintenance ended; however, it did not exit cleanly (256). Review the update logs to determine why the update failed. E Pre Maintenance ended, however it did not exit cleanly (256). Please check the logs for an indication of what happened.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,928
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please let us know the output from the following command:

    Code:
    awk '$4=="E"' /var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.XXXXXX.log
    Replace "update.XXXXXX.log" with the name of the most recent log file in the /var/cpanel/updatelogs/ directory.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Bloke2

    Bloke2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It didn't return anything. Just >
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,928
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Bloke2

    Bloke2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you I have opened a support ticket
     
  6. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the command returned '>' it means you typo'd the command, missing a quote somewhere.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice