Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel & WHM update failure in upcp script

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bloke2, Nov 14, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Bloke2

    Bloke2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got the following email message. Is this something I need to fix?
    "Maintenance ended; however, it did not exit cleanly (256). Review the update logs to determine why the update failed. E Pre Maintenance ended, however it did not exit cleanly (256). Please check the logs for an indication of what happened.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,484
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please let us know the output from the following command:

    Code:
    awk '$4=="E"' /var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.XXXXXX.log
    Replace "update.XXXXXX.log" with the name of the most recent log file in the /var/cpanel/updatelogs/ directory.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Bloke2

    Bloke2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It didn't return anything. Just >
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,484
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look?

    Thank you.
     
  5. Bloke2

    Bloke2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you I have opened a support ticket
     
  6. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the command returned '>' it means you typo'd the command, missing a quote somewhere.
     
Loading...

Share This Page