Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cPanel & WHM was blocked

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nirjonadda, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am getting The last attempt to update cPanel & WHM was blocked. Please let me know, How to fixing on this error issue?

    Details: Reasons for blocked updates.

    Please correct these issues and rerun updates.
    fatal: Cannot upgrade because yum is locked (/var/run/yum.pid has existed for 10+ minutes).

    [2015-10-07 07:35:48 -0400] Maintenance complete.
    => Log closed Wed Oct 7 07:35:48 2015
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    => Log opened from cPanel Update (upcp) - Slave (9545) at Wed Oct 7 07:35:48 2015
    [2015-10-07 07:35:48 -0400] Maintenance completed successfully
    [2015-10-07 07:35:49 -0400] Running Standardized hooks
    [2015-10-07 07:35:49 -0400]
    [2015-10-07 07:35:49 -0400] cPanel update completed
    [2015-10-07 07:35:49 -0400] A log of this update is available at /var/cpanel/updatelogs/update.1444216887.log
    [2015-10-07 07:35:49 -0400] Removing upcp pidfile
    [2015-10-07 07:35:49 -0400] W NOTE: A system upgrade was not possible due to the following blockers:
    [2015-10-07 07:35:49 -0400] W [FATAL] - Cannot upgrade because yum is locked (/var/run/yum.pid has existed for 10+ minutes).
    => Log closed Wed Oct 7 07:35:49 2015
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Cannot upgrade because yum is locked
    Code:
    # ps aux |grep yum|grep -Ev grep
    What does that provide.

    If nothing.
    Code:
    # rm -f /var/run/yum.pid
    # yum clean all
    # /scripts/upcp --force
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does not work. Please let me know.

    Code:
    login as: root
    Using keyboard-interactive authentication.
    Password:
    Last login: Sat Oct  3 10:25:00 2015 from 151.55.132.147
    root@na [~]# ps aux|grep rpm
    root     13712  0.0  0.0 103300   868 pts/0    S+   09:31   0:00 grep rpm
    root@na [~]# ps aux|grep yum
    root     13718  0.0  0.0 103300   872 pts/0    S+   09:31   0:00 grep yum
    root@na [~]# mkdir /root/old_rpm_dbs/
    root@na [~]# mv /var/lib/rpm/__db* /root/old_rpm_dbs/
    root@na [~]# rpm --rebuilddb
    root@na [~]# yum update
    Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, tsflags, universal-hooks
    Setting up Update Process
    Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/usr/bin/yum", line 29, in <module>
        yummain.user_main(sys.argv[1:], exit_code=True)
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 300, in user_main
        errcode = main(args)
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 146, in main
        result, resultmsgs = base.doCommands()
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 440, in doCommands
        return self.yum_cli_commands[self.basecmd].doCommand(self, self.basecmd, self.extcmds)
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yumcommands.py", line 233, in doCommand
        return base.updatePkgs(extcmds, update_to=(basecmd == 'update-to'))
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 728, in updatePkgs
        self.update()
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 3791, in update
        updates = self.up.getUpdatesTuples()
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 926, in <lambda>
        up = property(fget=lambda self: self._getUpdates(),
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 744, in _getUpdates
        self._up = rpmUtils.updates.Updates(self.rpmdb.simplePkgList(), self.pkgSack.simplePkgList())
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 907, in <lambda>
        pkgSack = property(fget=lambda self: self._getSacks(),
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/__init__.py", line 687, in _getSacks
        self.repos.populateSack(which=repos)
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/repos.py", line 295, in populateSack
        self.doSetup()
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/repos.py", line 110, in doSetup
        self.ayum.plugins.run('postreposetup')
      File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/yum/plugins.py", line 184, in run
        func(conduitcls(self, self.base, conf, **kwargs))
      File "/usr/lib/yum-plugins/fastestmirror.py", line 185, in postreposetup_hook
        read_timedhosts()
      File "/usr/lib/yum-plugins/fastestmirror.py", line 269, in read_timedhosts
        host, time = line.split()
    ValueError: too many values to unpack
    root@na [~]#
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Try running the following command to see if it allows "yum update" to succeed:

    Code:
    yum clean all
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, This is working to update !
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am happy to see that command helped. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice