The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpanel WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chrchcol, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. chrchcol

    chrchcol Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, so I have been told WHM requires root login? Is there anyway at all to get around this?

    Is there a way to wrap WHM access in CPanel so it doesn't require root login?
     
  2. AlexandreVeezon

    AlexandreVeezon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /br/sc/rionegrinho
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    and you security? :eek:
     
  3. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    You only need a Root login to access the Root Administration features on a server. This will be setup with you install/WHM.

    If you have a Reseller package your WHM login is the same as your cPanel login (in most cases).

    "How do I get around this" - What do you mean exactly, sounds like you are trying to get into someone elses server :eek:
     
  4. chrchcol

    chrchcol Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    NO not at all, we are locking down all of our servers, and creating a central login server. We would like to disable root access almost completeley outside of ssh tunneling.

    We would like to be able to wrap that whm connection, so our root password is never exposed. Is there anyway to do this?

    Chris
     
  5. proksie

    proksie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    As far as I know, WHM needs root login.
    I protect my server and WHM access through my firewall.
    So only IP: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx has WHM access on port 2086/2087.
    If you have resellers, you can add their IP's also.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    As celliott has said, the only way to avoid logging in as root into WHM is to setup a reseller and use that account instead. However, there are some functions you will have to login to root with.
     
Loading...

Share This Page