The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel with Redhat Enterprise Server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by eXite, Jan 4, 2004.

  1. eXite

    eXite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'm wondering who of you has already switched to RHES. I hear some good things about it, it's supposed to be rock solid and peforms extremely well.

    As I was looking at the product comparision table @ redhat.com I noticed that there's a difference between mutiple kinds of RHES packages. There's WS, ES and AS which cost respectively $179, $349 and $1499. WS is announced as an OS especially for use within desktop environments, ES is supposed to be for mid range server applications while AS is for top range 24/7 mission critical server applications.

    Which one does cPanel support? I'd have to choose between WS and ES, the only difference between those two operating systems is that ES seems to have pre-installed server packages, can someone clear this out for me?

    How does cPanel stand on this, I mean I'm willing to pay for my OS, but if I do I want it to operate flawless with cPanel, and if cPanel provides the packages you get with ES anyway, why couldn't I just buy WS since it has exactly the same kernel structure as ES and AS?
     
    #1 eXite, Jan 4, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2004
  2. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know that you must use ES for web servers.
     
  3. eXite

    eXite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Because..?
     
  4. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    how would I know? I was guessing...


    *ahem* sorry, lil joke. ;)
    I read it somewhere - only remembered the key part of what I read. Ya need ES.

    I'll see if I can dig up the info for you.
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I read about it at
    http://www.webhostgear.com/28.html

    Here is a quote from that page:
     
  6. eXite

    eXite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks.
     
  7. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    ES has support for up to 2 processors and AS has support for up to 32 or 64. The versions also support x amount of RAM.

    Probably 99% of hosting companies should be able to get by with ES.
     
  8. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Our site has just been upgraded to RH Enterprise. Working smooth so far and very fast. Same good feel as before too.
     
  9. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have been running RH ESv3 on a non cpanel box for 3 months now. Its rock solid. And errata has been very little.

    It appears to be a lot better engineered than the regular RH
     
  10. namehog

    namehog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton UK
    Changing from RH9 to RH-ES3

    Are there any known OS command line differences when changing from RH9 to RH-ES3 - we are currently about to upgrade all servers from RH9 due to the paid up status - and not wanting Fedora as the alternative.

    Are there any pitfalls to watch out for during migration of sites between ?

    We have been trying to get sensible answers about GD support when installing ES3 - does it auto compile with Gd and mcrypt support - or is is seperate job, before cPanel is added.

    If GD has to be compiled seperately - can it screw cPanel up ?

    ***********************

    sorted ! it can be done uder /scripts/easyapache and select GD - curl - mcrypt - ttf etc if required - very neat

    Bryon
    www.namehog.net
     
    #10 namehog, Jan 10, 2004
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2004
Loading...

Share This Page