The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanel wrong disk space

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by atlantis21, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. atlantis21

    atlantis21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel gives me 4,477.1 MB but a website public html has only 50 MB!!!!!!!?
    Please help!


    Here is screen shoot:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Click into public_html, what do you find in there?
     
  3. atlantis21

    atlantis21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can view on screenshot what is in public html.
    In public html root I only have some php files and nothing more.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Does the overall disk space usage of the account that you see in cPanel and WHM reflect the same values that you notice listed for the public_html directory in the disk space usage viewer? If so, try fixing the quotas via:

    Code:
    /scripts/fixquotas
    Also, check the disk space usage from the command line to see if it matches up. EX:

    Code:
    du -sh /home/user/public_html
    Thank you.
     
  5. edigest

    edigest Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    S. Pole
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can also find out where the largest files/folder is with this:

    nice -n 19 du -cksh * |sort -rn |head -21 > ducks.out &

    Run this from the web root (/var/home/<user>) and look at ducks.out when it finishes.
     
  6. atlantis21

    atlantis21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I found problem.
    Error log has 4.3 GB :)
    I test something before, and doesnt work. I forgot delete error log...
     
  7. TheJudge

    TheJudge Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Deleting the error_log or any other log file or "normal" file which is currently used by a process is not the right way to do it. This is because removing that file will leave the file descriptor opened and you ask yourself later why df -h does not correspond with du -sh.

    A proper way of freeing up the space in this situation is truncating the log file.

    Regards,
    Raul
     
Loading...

Share This Page