The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpanel11 and Disk Space Usage issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by siya, Aug 22, 2007.

  1. siya

    siya Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Since cpanel was upgraded to the version 11, we are facing a strange issue. The disk space usage reporting in users' cpanel don't work properly. Following is the error we receive:

    I couldn't find a new thread discussing this problem and guess we are the first one to hit by this. I found a couple of work arounds for this, but wouldn't like to go for this as I believe it is a bug in cpanel. Moreoever, the work arounds I mentioned may introduce a security hole or performance degradation.

    Anyone having any ideas on this!?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,452
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This command from CLI might solve this for you.


    /scripts/fixquotas
     
  3. siya

    siya Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Unfortunately no. I have already tried that for no help. :(
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    What is your OS, cPanel version and file system?


    Does it happen only on one account, all, or seemingly random?

    Is the number given the UID of the account?
     
  5. siya

    siya Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We have multiple boxes showing this issue. Configuration of a typical box is,

    Cpanel - 11.10.0-STABLE_16448
    CentOS release 4.5 (Final)
    Filesystem Ext3

    The interesting fact is that some times it works fine for a moment and throws error when the browser window is refreshed.

    An example error message in cpanel error log is pasted below.

    It works fine if the permission on df binary is set to 755. :confused:
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is the correct permissions mode for the df binary.

    What do you normally set it at, and why?
     
  7. siya

    siya Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We set it as 700; but it has been the same for a few months.
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    df is a dependency for the new File Manager and must be executable by all users (0555 or something similar). I'm curious, as I've seen several reports where the permissions were set to 0700, why someone would disable df for normal users?
     
  9. shivamxp

    shivamxp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Im seeing the same with the latest VPS optimized EDGE

    When I run /scripts/fixquotas

    Resetting quota for zaiakuc to 500 MB
    No filesystems with quota detected.


    However I know earlier the filesystem did have quotas...is this a possible cpanel bug or Virtuozzo Bug
     
  10. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We got the same problem here. Only on cPanel/Virtuozzo server.

    Something wrong with the promised new cPanel for VPS server ?
     
  11. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What's the output of the following?
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    
     
  12. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    none /dev/pts devpts rw 0 0
     
  13. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try editing it to (using nano -w /etc/fstab):
    Code:
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,usrquota 0 0
    
    Then restart your vps:
    Code:
    shutdown -r now
    
    Then run /scripts/initquotas && /scripts/fixquotas
     
  14. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    unfortunately this doesn't help to get rid of the problem.

    /scripts/initquotas
    Quotas are now on

    /scripts/fixquotas
    Installing Default Quota Databases......Done
    Quotas are now on
    Resetting quota for user1 to 500 M
    No filesystems with quota detected.
    Resetting quota for user2 to 200 M
    No filesystems with quota detected.

    cPanel message:
    Serious problem while fetching
    quota data (quota):
    Bad file descriptor (0) /∞ MB
     
  15. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is your full cPanel version number?
     
  16. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried different versions. Currently installed is:

    WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.18.5-S23897
     
  17. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You've tried CURRENT?

    If it still fails in CURRENT, please open a complimentary support ticket at https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/

    Mark the ticket: ATTN: QA Quotas VPS

    Thank you.
     
  18. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Now I tried WHM 11.20.0 cPanel 11.22.3-C23899 (VPS Optimized)

    The problem persists.

    I'll open a support ticket.

    I forgot I found one thing changed.

    cPanel message:

    Serious problem while fetching
    quota data (quota):
    Illegal seek (0) <-----
    /∞ MB

    Illegal seek instead of Bad file descriptor.
     
    #18 deddy, May 3, 2008
    Last edited: May 3, 2008
  19. bigpy2003

    bigpy2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same issue.

    Serious problem w
    hile fetching quo
    ta data (quota):
    Illegal seek (0)
    /∞ MB
     
  20. bigpy2003

    bigpy2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is there an update on this?
     
Loading...

Share This Page