The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpaneld and other base Cpanel services not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Fallout2man, Sep 3, 2003.

  1. Fallout2man

    Fallout2man Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Earlier tonight, my Cpanel (7.4.2 release 158) seemed to die on me. I went into SSH and it said all the services were running but I got a blank page when going into web host manager or Cpanel itself for a site.

    I ran a restart from the shell and it failed to start the cpanel daemon, web host manager daemon, webmail daemon and pop3 services. I tried to start these from the shell individually to see if there were any errors given and on all of them I got a very generic "Bus Error" returned.

    I tried running upcp to see if that might fix it, and noticed it didn't detect my cpanel version when it was comparing builds, so it updated to the 7.4.2-158 build again and services still ceased to start or restart properly giving the same error.

    Could someone please help me out here? My hostees aren't going to like having their webmail and cpanel down very much.

    Oh and I'm running a Rackshack Celeron 1.7 GHz processor with 512MB of RAM and a 60GB hard drive.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #1 Fallout2man, Sep 3, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2003
  2. Fallout2man

    Fallout2man Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How would I do that from the shell, and wouldn't that be bad since I thought Edge releases were unstable?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Actually, its probably better that you change to stable:

    edit: /etc/cpupdate.conf
    change CPANEL=whatever to CPANEL=stable
    Save, close & /scripts/upcp

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Changing to edge fixed this issue for us on one server,

    /scripts/upcp fixed the cpanel login but it took an edge rebuild to fix WHM

    as ciphervendor noted but change to edge


    edit: /etc/cpupdate.conf
    change CPANEL=whatever to CPANEL=stable
    Save, close & /scripts/upcp

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. alareach

    alareach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    me tooo.....

    This just happened to one of our boxes too :(
    I am trying to update to edge now but we cannot ssh into the box. I managed to get all other services back up with remote hands.

    Looks like time to run to the datacenter for a long night. :mad:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page