The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cPanels file manager message

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HH-Steven, May 3, 2006.

  1. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, ive had a look and cant seem to find anything similar to what im seeing so here goes:

    Across all our servers since the last cPanel update myself and all users are seeing the below message when attempting to upload files via cPanels file manager:

    Code:
    File uploads are restricted to prevent account issues caused by exceeding your file system quota
    
    Current available freespace:	(enter space here) MB
    Maximum file size for upload:	MB
    Required free space after upload:	MB (Default 5MB)
    
    Is this a recent addition for some reason? if so what is its purpose? (except for worrying our clients)

    How can this message be disabled?

    Cheers.
     
  2. vasko

    vasko Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can only assume that it is a recent addition, and the reason should be the fact that when an account exceeds the quota problems occur like the all-time-favourite "Why I can't receive any e-mails", the same aplpies for sending, and viewing e-mails especially in if this is done through web-mail and there's attachment. I believe that this text is put there just to let people that there's a restriction in the spirit that no matter what they do 5MB must and will remain free. This will prevent someone from uploading a file that will use all the free space.

    I'm not really sure if this have any effect for the backup. If you have noticed if the account has 100MB quota, and it is using 90MB and you generate a backup the quota is exceeded the moment the backup is created...... Time will tell :)
     
  3. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Go into WHM tweak settings and set the values for those
     
  4. trumpetx

    trumpetx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having this same problem with a customer.


    Does the backup count against a user's quota (when I have backups set to automatically happen in WHM? )

    This is the error message:


    The customer has a 1500MB alottment.
     
  5. trumpetx

    trumpetx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just upped the cap the quota to 3000MBs, still, same error.


    Any bugs related to this?
     
  6. Oras

    Oras Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iraq
    Same problem here!! Please advise
     
Loading...

Share This Page