The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpbackup ends without error

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by justinknight, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. justinknight

    justinknight Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    we are having a problem with getting the cpbackup script to run, the script gets part way through backing up the first account then ends without showing any errors. The server load is low. Any help/ideas much appreciated.

    Regards,
    Justin.

    Here are the versions of WHM/CPanel/CentOS:
    Code:
    WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.18.3-R21703
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.6 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0
    This is the cpbackup log:
    Code:
    [root@nebula ~]# more /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/1205921750.log
    [cpbackup] Started at Wed Mar 19 10:15:50 2008
    pkgacct started.
    pkgacct version 6.0 - running with uid 0
    using time::hires for speedups
    Copying Reseller Config...Done
    Copying Suspension Info (if needed)...Done
    Copying SSL Certificates, CSRS, and Keys...Done
    Copying Counter Data....Done
    Copying Bandwidth Data.......xxxx.co.uk...Done
    Copying Dns Zones.......xxxx.co.uk...Done
    Copying Mail files....Done
    Copying frontpage files....Done
    Copying proftpd file....Done
    Copy userdata............
    Copy custom virtualhost templates............
    Done
    Entering timeout safety mode
    Grabbing mysql dbs........xxxx xxxx_blog xxxx_phpcart horde.turba_objects horde.horde_prefs horde.kronolith_e
    vents horde.kronolith_storage horde.mnemo_memos horde.nag_tasks ...Done
    Grabbing mysql privs...Done
    Leaving timeout safety mode
    Copying mailman lists....Done
    Copying mailman archives....Done
    Copying homedir....Done
    Copying cpuser file.......Done
    Copying crontab file.......Done
    Copying quota info.......Done
    Storing Subdomains....
    Done
    Storing Parked Domains....
    Done
    Storing Addon Domains....
    Done
    Storing ssl domain......Done
    Copying password.......Done
    Copying shell.......Done
    pkgacctfile is: /home/cpbackuptmp/cpbackup/daily/xxxx.tar.gz
    Creating Archive ....Done
    md5sum is: 5ca5ca2f1dda7545ed383f2d926c9314
    [root@nebula ~]#
     
  2. lyndaron

    lyndaron Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just a quick note to say that I am seeing the exact same issue and it looks like it started with the recently update. My cpbackup version is dated 3/7/2008.

    My script ends with the first package creation and does not attempt to transfer (I have FTP enabled).

    What I am planning to do is diff the earlier version of cpbackup (pre-March) and the current version to see all that has changed.

    Any help/guidance from the cpanel team would be appreciated.
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On FreeBSD there is a problem with PATH when cpbackup is run via cron. This will be resolved in the next build(s).

    It's possible this can affect some Linux systems, if the path defined in cron does not include the directories where rsync and gzip, and other tools, are located.
     
  4. lyndaron

    lyndaron Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yet, the same problem occurs on CentOS when run from shell.

    It looks like the update to the script was fairly extensive.
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Would you mind opening a complimentary ticket at https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/ marked ATTN: QA Backup ?
     
  6. justinknight

    justinknight Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Support ticket opened

    Thanks for your reply, I've opened a support ticket as requested.
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you.
     
  8. RDS

    RDS Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Strange, I've never noticed this problem on FBSD 5.x/6.x/7.x
     
  9. justinknight

    justinknight Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK it was my stupid user error - I was running my ftp server on a non standard port.

    The cpbackup script would benefit from a few meaningful error messages if it fails because of ftp problems.

    Thanks for the help.

    Justin.
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That specific error is now logged.

    Working on all errors being logged.
     
Loading...

Share This Page