Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cpbackup: previous copy running......

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by WebJIVE, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. WebJIVE

    WebJIVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I have noticed over the past few weeks that I get dozens of emails from the server with the following message:

    From: root@xxxxxxxx.net (server x'd out by me)
    Subject: Cron <root@server1> /scripts/cpbackup
    Date: xx-xx-xxxx
    To: root@xxxxxxx.net

    cpbackup: previous copy running with pid 32074: aborting.

    I also get dozens of emails with the body message:

    cpbackup running in the background.
    complete log:/usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/1202454721.log

    Any reason why I would go from 1 email and 1 log to dozens and emails stating that a previous version is running? I have the default 1am backup cron job running and that's it. The backups are FTP and not local.

    Regards
    Eric
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Are the previous jobs still running? Are there multiple backup jobs still running because they are hung for some reason?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. WebJIVE

    WebJIVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    58
    The jobs all quit properly and if I do a top or "show running processes" from WHM, there is no cpabackup running the following morning. For some reason, backup processes are being spawned even though one is running. I checked the cronjob config file and cpbackup is in there only once.

    I only see one instance of cron running to.

    I don't know why this started in the last few weeks since I pretty much run cPanel on auto-pilot.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #3 WebJIVE, Feb 8, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2008
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sounds like /var/cpanel/backuprunning is not being removed as it's supposed to. What is your full cPanel version number?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. WebJIVE

    WebJIVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Sorry to take so long.. Been one of those days. The version shown in WHM is:

    WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.18.0-R20595

    I just peeked into that directory and there is no file backuprunning at the moment.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #5 WebJIVE, Feb 8, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice