The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpbackup vs. upcp?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by heyjohnboy, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. heyjohnboy

    heyjohnboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    We recently started receiving email notices for /scripts/cpbackup and /scripts/upcp. In the past, it seems that we only received the upcp notice, and that included the backup routines. Now it looks as if the data is being backed up twice...once by cpbackup and once by upcp?

    Do we need both routines? And how would we turn one off if we don't? I believe this first started when we upgraded to Stable 15.
     
  2. asmithjr

    asmithjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    good question,
    I see both now in the root cron.

    Also still see cpbackup in the upcp file?

    Necessary?
     
  3. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    It won't back up twice in one day anyway.

    This part of the backup script:

    Code:
    		if (isolderthen(.5,"${basedir}/daily")) {
    			backupaccts("${basedir}/daily");
    		} else {
    			print "Daily Backup is up to date\n";
    		}
    
    makes it so backup will only run if it's been more than 12 hours since the last time.
     
  4. asmithjr

    asmithjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yep, just thought is strange since their is a cron entry to run it seperately they left it in the upcp.
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    My guess is it's still in the upcp for a while to make sure everyone is updated to the new setup before they remove it from there.
     
  6. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    Yesterday I needed to restore one account data and tonight I received message "Daily Backup is up to date". I have backup set to run every second day and now it is more than 48 hours from last daily backup so I don't know why this messages appeared.

    Or , restoring of this account started daily backup process ?
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    The restore probably changed the date of the backup file which is what the script goes by in determining the last backup time. That may be a bug in how it works.
     
Loading...

Share This Page