The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cphulk still running even if I disabled it

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kent Brockman, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's a silly behaviour. I'm using the lfd b rute force protection from CSF, thus I disabled cpHulk to improve resource usage and avoid to be double alerted.
    Something may be incorrectly set when you disable cpHulk cause after I upgrade cPanel, I can see the cphulkd process running in the "Show Current CPU Usage" pane, but this function appear as disabled in the Security Center, so I must manually Enable and then Disable it to fully turn off the process.
    Why is this happening? may be due to any bug?
    Regards
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are your cPanel updates running automatically or manually? If manually, are your --force'ing them? Which branch (e.g. STABLE) of cPanel are you using?

    Testing on 11.23.4-CURRENT_26138:

    1. Disabled cPHulkd in Security Center
    2. Verified cPHulkd process was no longer running
    3. Executed /scripts/upcp
    4. Upon upcp completion checked for cPHulkd process:
    Code:
    root@mundane [~]# ps ax | grep -i hulk
      375 pts/0    S+     0:00 grep -i hulk
    
    Re-running the test with a forced update and will provide the results upon completion.


    UPDATE:

    /scripts/upcp --force does indeed cause the cPHulkd process to start though disabled in Security Center.
     
    #2 cPanelKenneth, Jul 14, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2008
  3. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Nope, I never "force" the upcp. Should I do it?
    I use manual updates since I like to read the changelog before start downloading.
    At the moment of this post I have recently updated from WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.3-S25971 to WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.4-S26138.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A forced update essentially re-installs cPanel (it doesn't remove any of your configuration settings). It's not normally needed.
     
  5. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    ok, then I will watch it next time cPanel must be upgraded.
     
  6. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    No --force used ever. upcp is manual only.
    WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.4-R26138.
    cpHulkd is disabled in whm (never remember enabling it as using csf+lfd)
    Still it shows up in pstree

    enabled and then disabled again.
    Doesn't showup in pstree.

    Regards
    Anup
     
    #6 anup123, Jul 15, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2008
  7. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    May be a bug inside upcp?
    cpHulkd shouldn't start if the admin have disabled it. upcp should check that.
     
  8. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    no cphulkd in pstree after above.

    ran upcp
    no cpHulkd in pstree so all fine.

    then did a /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel restart:

    Stopping cPanel brute force detector services: [ OK ]
    Starting cPanel brute force detector services: [ OK ]

    So a minor quirk as no cpHulkd in pstree even after. But upcp didn't get it back. So looks ok so far.
     
Loading...

Share This Page