Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

cppop - Thunderbird not able to connect

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Norman, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. Norman

    Norman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hello everone...

    Not sure if this is the right place or not.. but here is teh question.

    Last night, I started getting a message:
    "Thunderbird was unable to connect, the host refused connection"

    Now, I tried to telnet into port 110, and alas I can not get to the port, however from a different machine I can just fine.

    I thought maybe I got locked out in APF, so I cleared the firewall rules (for testing) and tried again.. no go..

    I know there is another file somewhere that might be blocking this connection.

    has anyone heard of this or had th is problem before?

    Thanks
    Dave
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, if you cannot connect to port 110 from the PC, then the problem is not with Thunderbird, but is either on a the PC's firewall if you have one, or your servers. Especially, if you can connect OK from a different PC.

    Did you try stopping iptables completely?

    service iptables stop

    then make sure that there're only the standard 3*2 lines in:

    iptables -L -n
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Norman

    Norman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Yeah I turned off IP Tables..

    But how could it change over night.. I don't use XP Firewall.. and it was working on night, but not in the am..

    I'll have to check Norton to see what it's reporting..

    I was thinking my IP for my home computer got thrown in a os file somewhere that was denying my connection.. I'll look through those too..

    Thanks for the heads up Chirpy
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Norman

    Norman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    OKay .. I've checked.. no personal firewall .. no windows firewall setup..

    So I'm not too sure why the server is refusing me connection..

    Got any other ideas anyone? :|

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Norton can be a PITA. Disable it and see if you can connect.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Norman

    Norman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Yeah I actually uninstalled it last night.. getting ready for an upgrade.. so I've uninstalled a bunch of stuff.. so it shoul,dn't be active
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice