The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPU Load Average of 100 normal during cpbackup?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by feldon27, Dec 26, 2013.

  1. feldon27

    feldon27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Is a load average of 100 normal when running cpbackup manually with --force?
     
  2. feldon27

    feldon27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    How do people survive with their production environment server at 75-100 load for hours?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,470
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Where are you seeing that load showing, exactly?
     
  4. feldon27

    feldon27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    top (once I got SSH to let me login after about 5 minutes of trying)

    also

    /http://***************:2082/cpsess4031622528/frontend/x3/status.html
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You should verify it's the backup process and not additional processes running at the same time that is causing the server load. A good tutorial on troubleshooting the server load is at:

    Troubleshooting High Load on Linux Systems

    Note that you can also browse to the "Stats and Logs" tab in "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings" and modify the following option:

    "Extra CPUs for server load"

    Per it's description:

    The load average above the number of CPUs at which cpuwatch, cpanellogd, backups, and CPU stats consider the system to be in a critical load state. For example, a server with 4 physical CPUs and a value of 2 in this field will be considered “critical” in these cases once the load reaches 6.


    Thank you.
     
  6. feldon27

    feldon27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I expected a RTFM response and you didn't disappoint.
     
  7. LDHosting

    LDHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think Michael answered the best that he could, considering that he has no access to your server, or any idea what processes were running during the backup or what those processes were doing (is the server swapping? IO bound due to slow or failing disks/heavy write activity/MySQL usage? Is it CPU bound? etc etc etc). Michael tried to give you additional information to help you identify the cause, however, it seems that was unwanted.

    To answer your questions specifically then:

    "Is a load average of 100 normal when running cpbackup manually with --force?"
    No.

    "How do people survive with their production environment server at 75-100 load for hours?"
    They don't. They typically resolve the issue that is causing the high load.
     
    #7 LDHosting, Dec 28, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  8. feldon27

    feldon27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I could respond with more sarcasm, but instead, I'll just let this picture speak for itself:

    /http://www.feldoncentral.com/forumpics/cpbackup_server_load2.png

    The part where server load was 80-120? That's cPBackup running. For over 3 hours, websites on the server were extremely unresponsive, if they were accessible at all.

    I'll give cPanel staff credit for being quick to respond, but it's often a link to the most obvious section of the cPanel documentation, even when a very specific question has been posed.

    I'm running a cPanel / CENTOS 5 server on a quad core Xeon with 4GB RAM. Load is typically between 1-3, until cpbackup starts. Then it buries the needle for 3-4 hours. This will obviously preclude me from using cpbackup as long as it is not able to throttle back. I cannot have 4 hours of downtime every week.
     
    #8 feldon27, Dec 29, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  9. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Please open a support ticket using the link in my signature. One of our analysts will investigate this issue for you.
    Once the ticket is opened, please post the ticket number here in this thread so we can update the thread accordingly.
     
  10. Zekeman

    Zekeman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Feldon... I am having a similar issue, did you resolve yours, if so how?
     
Loading...

Share This Page