The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cpu - please help :( !!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Honzazi, Oct 8, 2007.

  1. Honzazi

    Honzazi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hiya Guys,
    I have the BIG problem, but excuse me my obvious stupidity I can't find in my WHM
    what you are talking about in http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=24837

    I'm talking about:

    1.WHL->System Health->Show Current CPU Usage

    Stop? Click on "Pid"-> "Kill Process" then is finish!

    2. Solve problem 1. then is problem 2 also solve.


    ! WHL? Pid? Where exactly is it?

    I have this message:

    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    This is cPanel cpuwatch on x.x.com !
    While processing, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more than a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    13:00:09 up 11 days, 3:22, 0 users, load average: 4.14, 3.68, 3.54
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load. If you want stats to continue to run even with a high load; Edit
    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and change extracpus to a number larger then 0 (run
    /usr/local/cpanel/startup afterwards to pickup the changes).

    Also = Although I increased extracpus up to 10, WHM keeps sending the same message.

    I looked in WHM and I can't find what are you talking about!? Where exactly is it?

    Please Help! I'm so scared my web will brake up!


    Thank you very much!
    All the best!
    Honzazi
     
    #1 Honzazi, Oct 8, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2007
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Its a typo. He meant WHM. And not exactly the best advice either, IMO.

    How many accounts on the server?

    Have you tried a graceful reboot?
     
  3. Honzazi

    Honzazi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hiya

    Hiya,
    I found it! and I did it! :(

    But you say it's not the best way! :( What is than?

    How many accounts on the server?
    Just one!

    Have you tried a graceful reboot?
    No, sorry I'm new to it - how?


    Thank you very, very much!

    Honzazi
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Graceful Reboot is in WHM as well.

    WHM > System Reboot section on left menu > Graceful Server Reboot. (no typos I'm pretty sure) ;)

    There's a reason the CPU is maxing out and while killing the process is fine, and upping the extracpus setting may get rid of the red icon for a bit if at all, it sounds like you've got a problem there you should deal with. Killing a process that will probably come back and upping the extracpus is not the answer you seek, IMHO of course, though YMMV.

    I'd suggest hiring someone to take a closer look and find the problem. For starters what software are you running on this one site? If you're running some out of date script like a phpbb or an old mambo CMS, web calendar or something else along those lines for example, it could be under an attack which would spike your CPU and if you're not sure what to look for, it will keep crashing your server.

    HTH
     
  5. Honzazi

    Honzazi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks

    Thanks a lot! :D Again :)

    In Graceful System Reboot there is a message
    Warning: This will reboot your system!

    If I process it Am I risking of loosing something?


    Thank you and sorry to be a bit thick :)

    :(about the system... it's a bit mixed, I'm afraid full of bugs):

    PS.: do you know somebody who I could hire for help? Unfortunately I'm student so I can't pay much :(

    Thanks :) :) :)
     
  6. ericgregory

    ericgregory Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Have you put in a support ticket with our technical team? If not, please do so and we'll be happy to check it out for you.
     
  7. Honzazi

    Honzazi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes

    Yes I did...
    I think it's fine know! Hopefully... the "killer" helped me....
    Thanks you all
    Honzazi
     
  8. ericgregory

    ericgregory Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Glad to hear everything is working for you. If you run into any other issues please let us know.
     
Loading...

Share This Page