Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

CPU/ Server overload

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DiddyW, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. DiddyW

    DiddyW Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hello, I'm prettynew to all this and I get every 6 hours CPU/ Server overload notification which is the following:
    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    This is cPanel cpuwatch on xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx!
    While processing, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more than a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    03:15:27 up 109 days, 13:50, 0 users, load average: 9.80, 5.21, 5.17
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load. If you want stats to continue to run even with a high load; Edit
    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and change extracpus to a number larger then 0 (run
    /usr/local/cpanel/startup afterwards to pickup the changes).

    My question now is how can I investigate the cause of this problem, how to find out where it comes from?
    I got about 5 domains on that server and my guess is I need to find out first of all which domain it comes from.
    And then surely we all have differnt web sites, but is there a way to find the root cause of this problem. It really slows down my sites a lot.
     
  2. ServerKitaWebId

    ServerKitaWebId Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    try to look in whm process manager or you can submit a tickets support to cpanel technical support i thinks that would be much help, good luck :)
     
  3. raghunath

    raghunath Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hey !

    You can try the command "top" on your server to check which process is using more memory/ CPU.

    You can also use pstree to list out the process tree.

    OR

    If you go into whm and tweak settings there should be a line:The load average above the number of cpus at which logs file processing...........
    You can simply update this to a higher value. In this case the logs should run.
     
  4. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice