The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPU/ Server overload

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DiddyW, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. DiddyW

    DiddyW Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello, I'm prettynew to all this and I get every 6 hours CPU/ Server overload notification which is the following:
    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    This is cPanel cpuwatch on xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx!
    While processing, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more than a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    03:15:27 up 109 days, 13:50, 0 users, load average: 9.80, 5.21, 5.17
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load. If you want stats to continue to run even with a high load; Edit
    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and change extracpus to a number larger then 0 (run
    /usr/local/cpanel/startup afterwards to pickup the changes).

    My question now is how can I investigate the cause of this problem, how to find out where it comes from?
    I got about 5 domains on that server and my guess is I need to find out first of all which domain it comes from.
    And then surely we all have differnt web sites, but is there a way to find the root cause of this problem. It really slows down my sites a lot.
     
  2. ServerKitaWebId

    ServerKitaWebId Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    try to look in whm process manager or you can submit a tickets support to cpanel technical support i thinks that would be much help, good luck :)
     
  3. raghunath

    raghunath Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey !

    You can try the command "top" on your server to check which process is using more memory/ CPU.

    You can also use pstree to list out the process tree.

    OR

    If you go into whm and tweak settings there should be a line:The load average above the number of cpus at which logs file processing...........
    You can simply update this to a higher value. In this case the logs should run.
     
  4. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page