The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpu Usage Auto Suspend script

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by newphp, May 16, 2007.

  1. newphp

    newphp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chongqing,China
    Sometimes,too many resources was used by one or two host users.I was wondering how do you make it so cpanel/whm auto suspends an account that goes over a specific cpu usage.

    I search it on the internet but got nothing.
     
  2. Parahosting

    Parahosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same here, I'd appreciate a code like this, with its own error message. Google shows nothing but other hogs.
     
  3. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Check out Chirpy's firewall. This will do what you want and more. look for csf
     
  4. newphp

    newphp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chongqing,China
    I mean Cpu Usage Auto Suspend script but not firewall.
    APF was installed on my servers.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    There's no such functionality in cPanel and it would be very difficult to do since much of the resource usage on a server is shared and cannot be easily attributable to a specific account.
     
  6. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    bluehost has their own in-house script which does this but no one is able to get this from the net :rolleyes:
     
  7. clanosiris

    clanosiris Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yeah i just saw that for one the sites with bluehost and came here hoping to find it but no luck :(
     
  8. jfm

    jfm Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it would seem that it can be done

    ive had a cpanel account suspended for cpu usage, and was told it was suspended automaticly, after reading this, i wonder if it was 'automatic'

    I would defenatly like to see this as a option, maybe not suspend, but at least for emails to be sent.
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Suspending of accounts automatically is not yet part of native cPanel/WHM functionality (as of writing) but may be something your web hosting provider has implemented themselves.

    We do not yet have an ETA for this functionality, but you can monitor the progress of our implementation as updates become available by subscribing to the following thread:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f145/suspend-upon-excessive-cpu-usage-134133-p6.html
     
Loading...

Share This Page