The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPU0: Temperature above threshold

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AbeFroman, Sep 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do these errors mean? Why did I just start getting them?

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:55:47 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:55:47 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:55:47 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:59:42 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:59:43 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:59:43 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:59:43 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 11:06:12 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 11:06:12 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 11:06:12 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 11:06:13 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Running in modulated clock mode
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Doesn't sound good to me. I'd be asking the data center to look into it.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Yeah. Sounds like your CPU's are above their temperature threshold ;)

    The servers probably blown a fan - or two. This kind of thing is a little bit urgent too, since an overheated CPU can cause some terrible damage.
     
  4. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How can I see the temperture? I didnt get anymore messages, what if its like online 0.01 degrees over the threshold?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  6. KarMeng

    KarMeng Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys, this is what ?I got .

    [root@local ~]# cat /proc/cpuinfo
    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 15
    model : 3
    model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    stepping : 4
    cpu MHz : 2993.196
    cache size : 1024 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 0
    cpu cores : 1
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 5
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
    bogomips : 5988.76

    processor : 1
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 15
    model : 3
    model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    stepping : 4
    cpu MHz : 2993.196
    cache size : 1024 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 0
    cpu cores : 1
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 5
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
    bogomips : 5984.20

    May I know if the get temperature function needs to be configured like recompile the kernel in order to have the function to read temperature ?

    Thank you in advanced.
     
  7. nvez

    nvez Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The threshold is HIGH enough as is so if it's 0.01 above it, it could still be dangerous.
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Please don't dig up 3 year old threads.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page