Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

CPU0: Temperature above threshold

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AbeFroman, Sep 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    What do these errors mean? Why did I just start getting them?

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:55:47 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:55:47 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:55:47 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:59:42 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:59:43 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:59:43 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 10:59:43 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 11:06:12 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 11:06:12 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Temperature above threshold

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 11:06:12 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU1: Running in modulated clock mode

    Message from syslogd@server105 at Wed Sep 15 11:06:13 2004 ...
    server105 kernel: CPU0: Running in modulated clock mode
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Doesn't sound good to me. I'd be asking the data center to look into it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Yeah. Sounds like your CPU's are above their temperature threshold ;)

    The servers probably blown a fan - or two. This kind of thing is a little bit urgent too, since an overheated CPU can cause some terrible damage.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    How can I see the temperture? I didnt get anymore messages, what if its like online 0.01 degrees over the threshold?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. KarMeng

    KarMeng Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi guys, this is what ?I got .

    [root@local ~]# cat /proc/cpuinfo
    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 15
    model : 3
    model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    stepping : 4
    cpu MHz : 2993.196
    cache size : 1024 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 0
    cpu cores : 1
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 5
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
    bogomips : 5988.76

    processor : 1
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 15
    model : 3
    model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    stepping : 4
    cpu MHz : 2993.196
    cache size : 1024 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 0
    cpu cores : 1
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 5
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
    bogomips : 5984.20

    May I know if the get temperature function needs to be configured like recompile the kernel in order to have the function to read temperature ?

    Thank you in advanced.
     
  7. nvez

    nvez Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    The threshold is HIGH enough as is so if it's 0.01 above it, it could still be dangerous.
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Please don't dig up 3 year old threads.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice