The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[cpuwatchcheck] Cpu/Server Overload

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cyberspirit, Jan 17, 2004.

  1. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone tell me what this message here means?
    Is there any documentation to how the 3 numbers are calculated? The message suggests that stats stops when the load is too high, is that correct?
    The messages also mentions to change the extracpus value to a number larger than 0. But based on what? I hate messages like that without further documentation and I do not like changing config files without exact explanation what the options are and what they will do to my system.
    Anyone any experience with this?


    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    This is cPanel cpuwatch on atlantis.westbay.net!
    While processing, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more then a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    8:58am up 11:19, 0 users, load average: 6.37, 4.43, 3.84
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load. If you want stats to continue to run even with a high load; Edit
    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and change extracpus to a number larger then 0 (run
    /usr/local/cpanel/startup afterwards to pickup the changes).
     
  2. Chew

    Chew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'm assuming that it has something to do with the value you set in system status...

    That's only a guess.

    Chew
     
  3. Guile

    Guile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cyberspirit, what did you do to get cPanel/WHM to email you about your server load?
     
  4. Daniel

    Daniel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The load on your server is too high for the stats to run.

    Yes that is correct.

    You can set this in WHM > tweak settings.

    From WHM:
    The load average above the number of cpus at which logs file processing should be suspended (default 0):

    Setting this to 0 on a one CPU system will cause stats to stop running if the load goes over 1.00. If you set this to 1 on a one CPU system the load will go to 2.00 before stats stop running.

    But If it were me I would check to see why the load was so high. Fixing the load problem will solve this problem as well.
     
  5. Sabaote

    Sabaote Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ribeirao Preto, Brazil
    I set to 0, but i continue receive this e-mail...

    And, the load is so high...
    I have some sites than have an average of 15k per day...
    And if somebody knows a solution to fix the high load.. please..

    I have a P4 2.8 - 2Gb of RAM... Please!!!

    Thanks!
     
  6. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Let me refeer you to a post I made earlier today. I was experiencing high server and memory while I was testing some backend scripts on my box. After a while the memory and server load stablized. But there is a command that can help you, it has helped me.

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=29056

    Hope that helps.
     
Loading...

Share This Page