The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Create 301 Redirects on New Server

Discussion in 'Security' started by LucaMilan, Dec 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. LucaMilan

    LucaMilan Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Milan, Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi, I'm currently moving a website "http://site1" from another server (win2008r2, w/Plesk) to a new cPanel centos based server (dedicated).
    The problem is that on the old server there is an ecommerce website with a SSL certificates "https://ecommerce".
    When I digit https://ecommerce or http://site1 everything works right. But when I digit https://site1 the certificates pop-up is show and it redirect users to https://ecommerce, everything without any error.
    This is due because old server has only one IP address shared and is not possible to limit the certificate to one website only.

    BUT now I've brought a new server, and moved the http://site1 to this new one. But I cannot create 301 redirects to be graceful to google index (yes, google grab more then 100 wrong urls).
    Now if a link to https://site1 there is not redirect to old server, but I've got a 404 error and google will penalize me.

    Is there a way to create a "global htacces" to redirect traffic to the homepage?

    Please, help me and forgive my bad english...
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. LucaMilan

    LucaMilan Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Milan, Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thank you cPanelMichael, but I haven't AutoSSL on my WHM and it is not a feature available :(
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's not a feature within cPanel, but rather it's found in Web Host Manager:

    "WHM Home >> SSL/TLS >> Manage AutoSSL"

    Are you sure you have root access to the dedicated server, or do you only have reseller access?

    Thanks!
     
  5. LucaMilan

    LucaMilan Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Milan, Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thank you Michael,
    I have a WHM access as root (I suppose :(), but no "Manage AutoSSL" option...
     

    Attached Files:

  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. LucaMilan

    LucaMilan Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Milan, Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    How I solved:

    The only solution I found is to create a Let's Encrypt certificate over http://site so now I've not errors on Google Search Console, beacause https://site works and it is approved by clients.

    To create the Let's Encrypt certificate I used this tutorial: [How-To] Installing SSL from Let's Encrypt

    Thank you.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page