The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Create account without domain

Discussion in 'Security' started by keat63, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Now that i've read up and learnt a little more, my next step is to consider disabling root logins.

    I'd like to create a username that's as equally difficult to guess as the password would be.
    I'd prefer to have this user solely for the purpose of admin/ssh tasks.
    Is it possible to create a user without a domain.?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can create a fake account, set him up with Reseller privileges in Reseller Center, and have him own all accounts.
    He'd access WHM from:
    server.hostname.com:2087
    And cPanel:
    server.hostname.com:2083

    If he's set to own the accounts, and is a Reseller account, he should be able to access the cPanel accounts he owns, from his cPanel via a menu. When new accounts are created, he should be the one who logs in and creates the Packages and the accounts for them.

    Some tasks will still require you to be logged in as root user. There are docs related here you might like to know about:
    How to Secure SSH - cPanel Documentation
     
  3. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So if some tasks require to be logged in as Root, how do i log in as root, if root logins are disabled.
    My appologies if this seems obvious ?

    Also, when I try to create a fake account, WHM is nagging for a domain name
     
    #3 keat63, Dec 15, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It can be any fictitious domain you like, but yes, you will have to add one. You will not be able to access it in your browser of course, unless using the mentioned above URLs.

    There are many threads on these forums worth a second look. For example:
    Disallowing root access - cPanel Forums


    HTH!
     
  5. quizknows

    quizknows Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    disallowing root login for ssh does not disallow root login for WHM, does that clear it up a bit?
     
  6. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It does a little.
    Last night i created a dummy account, and logged in to WHM only to find that i'd lost half of the features, so I decided to take another look when i have a little more spare time.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You must ensure you assign the reseller "All Privileges" via "WHM Home >> Resellers >> Edit Reseller Nameservers and Privileges" if you prefer to access WHM as a reseller instead of the "root" user.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page