Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Create FTP account via API 2 and associate it to a subdomain

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by liviuhariton, Jul 4, 2017.

Tags:
  1. liviuhariton

    liviuhariton Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tulcea, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello everyone,

    I have an issue with the API 2 and I can't find a solution. The scenario is:
    • I create a new subdomain sub.domain.com - everything is okay here (I'm using SubDomain::addsubdomain)
    • I try to create a new FTP account by using Ftp::addftp but the username will be user@domain.com but I want it to be user@sub.domain.com
    How can I achieve this (the documentation does not give me any clues on this)

    Thank you in advance!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,871
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    liviuhariton likes this.
  3. liviuhariton

    liviuhariton Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tulcea, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Awesome, thank you! With the new parameter the username is now created as I wanted.

    BUT, there is a new problem: when I try to login with the newly created credentials the authentication fails with "530 Login authentication failed". Even if I update the password of the FTP account via cPanel interface, the login still fails...

    By using the API2, I have created the following FTP account:
    When I try to connect, via FTP, to sub.domain.com (with the above credentials), the authentication fails...
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,871
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you sure the subdomain resolves to the cPanel server? Also, are you including the "@domain.tld" suffix in the username? Do you notice any specific error messages in /var/log/messages when authentication fails?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. liviuhariton

    liviuhariton Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tulcea, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are right Michael, there was a typo on my side, sorry for that :(

    Are there any specific parameters I need to send to the API2 so that I can delete this newly created FTP account (by using Ftp::delftp)? Because the deletion of an user in the form of "user@sub.domain.com" is not working (but is working for an account like user@domain.com)
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,871
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. liviuhariton

    liviuhariton Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tulcea, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, indeed, I've added the domain and it's working just fine. Thanks!

    As for your question: I'm building a custom interface that allows me to create subdomains, email accounts, ftp users, mysql databases and mysql users (associated to the database) on the fly and I did not manage to find a PHP wrapper built for UAPI.

    I found one for API2 instead (this one github.com/pguso/cpanel-api/blob/master/src/Hostkit/Common/Api/Cpanel.php)... If you know a PHP wrapper for UAPI that does the same thing, please let me know about it as I don't have any preferences for what API to use as long as I obtain what I need...
     
    #7 liviuhariton, Jul 4, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 5, 2017
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,871
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm glad to see adding the domain parameter helped. I've also added a note to the Documentation case to ensure the parameter is reflected on the corresponding cPanel API 2 document for the delete FTP account function.

    In the example, you see a entry like this for cPanel API 2:

    Code:
    &cpanel_jsonapi_apiversion=2
    For UAPI, it's "apiversion=3". So you'd simply adjust the value and make changes to the function names if necessary.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. liviuhariton

    liviuhariton Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tulcea, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank your for the advice! I'll try it and get back here afterwords to leave a feedback.
     
  10. liviuhariton

    liviuhariton Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tulcea, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,871
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's correct. Some cPanel API 2 functions are not yet supported with cPanel UAPI. This includes the ability to add subdomains.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. liviuhariton

    liviuhariton Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tulcea, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are there any future plans to include this functionality in UAPI?
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,871
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    There's currently no time frame for the availability of a corresponding UAPI function. I encourage you to submit a feature request for the addition of a UAPI function to manage subdomains:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. liviuhariton

    liviuhariton Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Tulcea, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This thread can be marked as Solved. Thank you!
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice