The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Created first account - Where is the cpanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by KnightB4, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. KnightB4

    KnightB4 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    A newbie question: could not find information anywhere.

    I created an account with WHM.
    It seems to work well. I am able to access "mydomainname.com"

    Now, where is the cpanel for that user?
    I cannot access it with http://mydomainname.com/cpanel

    Do I need to restart cpanel?

    Thanks in advance,
    Louis
     
  2. KnightB4

    KnightB4 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am reading some more and trying to figure this out.

    Do I need to open a port in the firewall? I see a port for WHM, but not for cPanel.

    Louis
     
  3. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did you wait for the dns to propagate for that domain name? try using the server ip address in place of the domain name and use the account info you set the account up with until then.
     
  4. KnightB4

    KnightB4 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, I have tried using the ip address directly. This doesn't work.

    Actually I am able to access mydomainname.com, so the DNS has been propagated.

    This is why I am asking for other solutions: restart cpanel? open the firewall for port 2082, 2083, others?

    Thanks,
    Louis
     
  5. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes you will need to open port 2082 & 2083 for cpanel access.
     
  6. KnightB4

    KnightB4 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    All right, that was it, opening the ports in the firewall did the trick.
    I can access cPanel now.
    Thanks for your help!
    Louis
     
Loading...

Share This Page