The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating a cPanel Cloud Template

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by Loth, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. Loth

    Loth Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    What is the current recommended way to create a cPanel template? We are looking for a way to reset all generated passwords and ip configurations on next firstboot so we don't have templates having the same passwords/ip conflicts. I can't seem to find any documentation on accomplishing this.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you elaborate on the passwords and IP addresses you want to configure? For instance, are you generating accounts as part of the template?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Loth

    Loth Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This will be an OpenStack VM template, a user will order one to be installed and all passwords and IP's regenerated based on the new server. I was thinking at least WHM/cPanel and SQL passwords need to be reset and any other passwords that might be stored somewhere.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Most templates I've seen are created without any actual cPanel accounts. Are you referring to the root or MySQL root passwords? Note that you may find this feature request useful:

    Application Container Support

    Thank you.
     
  5. Loth

    Loth Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello, Yes we need to reset the root and MySQL root password. In addition to these is there anything else that would need to be reset on first boot?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We don't offer a guide on setting up an image or actual images, but the following images from Cloud Linux might help:

    Installation > VMware Images

    You may also want to vote for the feature request if you want to see something from cPanel directly.

    Thank you.
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you just set up a simple Bash script @reboot and modify the things you need automatically
    It depends on your back-end/front-end and how it deploys

    for us the IP/hostname/root password all get set by the software we just customize some of the other stuff with bash IE: main shared IP
     
  8. Loth

    Loth Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello, I see HOST/ADDR/ETHDEV in /etc/wwwacct.conf, are there any other files to modify? I have seen these commands to regenerate the configuration files post-configuration-update, are they still accurate?

    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    /scripts/rebuildippool
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/apache_conf_distiller –update
     
  9. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    only thing we modify in that file is the main shared ip but if your ethdev changes per deployment then yes ours stays eth0
    or in the case of vz venet0:0
    and run a /scripts/upcp --force
     
Loading...

Share This Page