The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating Accounts With Reseller Problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by punjabipredator, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. punjabipredator

    punjabipredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Everytime someone creates a user account it gives out my nameservers rather then cleints. How can i change this so whenever a client creates an account his nameservers are shown rather then mine?
     
    #1 punjabipredator, Sep 28, 2006
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2006
  2. psk

    psk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Next to you.. always..
    Whenever you create a domain in your server the name server values should be your server's name servers. The user should change the values in the domain registrar so that the domain is pointed to your server.

    Otherwise you may register custom name server for each domain name through whm. But it's not advisable.
     
  3. punjabipredator

    punjabipredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    :confused: I have already given private nameservers but we share one IP address. Is it possible to have clients namservers being displayed rather then mine when someone is creating an account
     
  4. psk

    psk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Next to you.. always..
    Login to WHM

    Basic cPanel/WHM Setup --> Primary Nameserver
    --> Secondary Nameserver


    These are the values taken by default.
     
  5. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have your reseller choose "Edit Zone Templates " and change the templates to THEIR nameservers. Any account that he creates will have his nameservers installed.
    Ron
     
  6. punjabipredator

    punjabipredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Everytime i do this it gives me an error i try to change the domain name to my own. What changes do i need to make here exactly in these templates?
     
  7. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have the original template as this:
    Change it to this:
    Your template may be somewhat different, but look at the 5 lines with "theirdomain.com" in it for the 5 changes required. You may have as few as 2 actual nameservers, if so just don't add the 3 & 4 in your template.

    Ron
     
  8. punjabipredator

    punjabipredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My template is like this. Would i need to do this in root or would i have to tell each of my reseller clients to do it? I do have only two nameservers. Please let me know. Thank You.


     
    #8 punjabipredator, Sep 28, 2006
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2006
  9. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On our setup, our resellers have their own nameservers. Once the account is setup and they get the nameservers registered and working. We edit the DNS Zone for the reseller and take our nameservers out for their NS1 and NS2 etc... and put in their custom nameservers.

    When they create new accounts it will setup their resold accounts with their nameservers. We did not need to edit the template for them, just the resellers DNS Zone.
     
  10. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Go into whm > Reseller Center > edit privelates/name servers

    Adjust your resellers settings in there as well and you will not have to
    edit the zone templates.
     
  11. punjabipredator

    punjabipredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am confused. If i add nameservers in there my nameservers get messed up. When i go to Networking Setup > Nameservers IP the namservers change.
     
  12. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In the reseller setup you do not add the IP, just the name. Make sure under Tweak Settings you allow sharing nameserver Ip's
     
  13. punjabipredator

    punjabipredator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank You So Much I Got It Working :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page