The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating cPanel accounts with a

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ltcjohnson, Oct 4, 2006.

  1. ltcjohnson

    ltcjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Erin, NY
    Creating cPanel accounts with sub domains instead of a domain. can it be done? Why I want to do this is because I offer a free package with just the basics and a http://user.mydomain.com.
     
  2. designeru

    designeru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hint!

    Sure, no problem at all.
     
  3. ltcjohnson

    ltcjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Erin, NY
    Okay, what would the best way to go about doing this?
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Simple. Go in WHM and create an account using the full subdomain URL instead of just the domain.
     
  5. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    and i think that it's required for the main domain (the one that has the subdomains) to be on the same server.
     
  6. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    heh, i was just going to add that to my post :)
     
  7. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hmm, i posted after you, and yet thios forum thinks i posted 3 minutes before you. That happens alot lately.
     
  8. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    haha, 3 messages appear before yours.

    it's clear to me that you have discovered time travelling.
     
  9. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    For simplicity it's required. It can be done if the domain is on another server, but then the zone files would have to be edited manually on the other server to point the subdomain to the right server.
     
  10. ltcjohnson

    ltcjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Erin, NY
    The domain is local. Its the one to my WHM. Okay. Does the subdomains have to be created prior to the account creation?
     
  11. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    No
    They should NOT be created as subdomains in cpanel first.
     
  12. ltcjohnson

    ltcjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Erin, NY
    Just so I understand this. You say use the full sub domain url so I would then use http://subdomain.domain.com and not subdomain.domain.com... I tried with the subdomain.domain.com and no go... gonna try the other way...
     
  13. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You don't need the http://, just sub.domain.com. What error does it give when you do that?
     
  14. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I wish. I'd go back 20 years if I could.
     
  15. ltcjohnson

    ltcjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Erin, NY
    Account created just fine, just couldn't access it via http://sub.domain.com

    I will try it again and let it stew a bit longer however I think I had it like that for 30 hours or so and it still didnt resolve.
     
  16. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Test the domain and subdomain at dnsstuff.com and see if it shows any problems.
     
  17. ltcjohnson

    ltcjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Erin, NY
    Oh, I'm also doing this with a WHM/ cPanel reseller account if it matters? and the dns server isnt of my domain. it uses a netural address (ns.dnsprotect.com) if that matters?

    And when I created the account I noticed this in the setup thing.

    Code:
    Starting install, port: 80.
    
    Creating web http://www.sub.domain.com.
    Chowning Content in service /.
    Install completed.
    
    Shouldn't it be http://sub.domain.com?
     
  18. levelsupport

    levelsupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    both should work fine.
     
Loading...

Share This Page