The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

creating database without user prefix

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by axilaris, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. axilaris

    axilaris Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I want to create a database but the problem the name always have to start with the prefix.

    from cpanel, goto
    MySQL Databases

    then
    Create New Database

    New Database: userprefix_

    How do I remove the prefix and just create a db with the name I want ?

    I am currently logged into user domain in cpanel. is there a root access to cpanel to get this ability ? all i know is i access root only in WHM.
     
  2. axilaris

    axilaris Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    found out, basically need to remove the prefix in WHM settings.
     
  3. cPanelDavidN

    cPanelDavidN Integration Developer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There's an entire white paper concerning DB Mapping, which is the feature set that provides this ability to disable database prefixing. You can get it here. It's kind of a long read, but might help illuminate the benefits and drawbacks of switching that behavior.

    I'd suggest testing before you make the switch on a production server. Rembember, it's a one-way action, once you disable prefixing, you cannot re-enable it.


    Best Regards,
    -DavidN
     
  4. slowgary

    slowgary Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    EDIT: Nvm, I posted before I followed your link. Thanks again!

    @David,

    When you say "one-way action", do you mean because it would break user's apps? I have a new reseller account but will only be hosting my own apps. Is it safe to turn off prefixing, and could I turn it back on in the future if needed?

    Thanks.
     
    #4 slowgary, Jan 7, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2011
  5. cPanelDavidN

    cPanelDavidN Integration Developer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi All

    I know Gary already said nevermind to his question, but I'll give the explicit answer for others that stumble upon this thread. "One-way action" means that once you turn DB Prefixing off, you cannot turn it back on. The WHM interface page will no longer offer the option to change the setting.


    Regards,
    -DavidN
     
  6. jeck

    jeck Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,
    Will disabling Database Prefix have any affect in the existing databases (using the username prefix)?

    Thank you,
    Jaques
     
  7. cPanelDavidN

    cPanelDavidN Integration Developer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Jaques,

    If you disable prefixing on your system it will not affect existing databases. Those database will remain untouched. Their name will remain as it was when it was created (with a prefix).

    Regards,
    -DavidN
     
Loading...

Share This Page