Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Creating multiple server with same config, but hostname.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by excessnet, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. excessnet

    excessnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I tried to search, but I didn't find it. I'm we can do that easely.

    Can I create a "template" server configuration and then, copy this configurations to other server (i.e.: Tweak, Preference, ...), so I only have to set hostname, install 3rd party stuff (like CSF) and run EasyApache (with saved profile) when I build a new server instant of going tab by tab... ?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 excessnet, Jun 7, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2010
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    353
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Make a copy of /var/cpanel/cpanel.config & save it somewhere

    upload it to your new server & run
    /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2 --updatetweaksettings
    after you install it


    for csf grab the latest copy & untar it replace the defualt csf.conf with your custom csf.conf. tar it backup & use that csf.tgz to use for future installs
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. excessnet

    excessnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I knew it was simple

    Thanks a lot dalem! :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    353
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    welcome :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. excessnet

    excessnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hum... it seem to copy only the "tweak" settings. Not "Ftp Server Configuration" (like, I put Anonymous to "no" and it's still "yes") and stuff like that! :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Earth
    You can also sync these configuration files manually from the source server. Sync'ing the following files should cause no issues

     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice