The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating multiple server with same config, but hostname.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by excessnet, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. excessnet

    excessnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I tried to search, but I didn't find it. I'm we can do that easely.

    Can I create a "template" server configuration and then, copy this configurations to other server (i.e.: Tweak, Preference, ...), so I only have to set hostname, install 3rd party stuff (like CSF) and run EasyApache (with saved profile) when I build a new server instant of going tab by tab... ?

    Thanks!
     
    #1 excessnet, Jun 7, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2010
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Make a copy of /var/cpanel/cpanel.config & save it somewhere

    upload it to your new server & run
    /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/whostmgr2 --updatetweaksettings
    after you install it


    for csf grab the latest copy & untar it replace the defualt csf.conf with your custom csf.conf. tar it backup & use that csf.tgz to use for future installs
     
  3. excessnet

    excessnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I knew it was simple

    Thanks a lot dalem! :)
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    welcome :)
     
  5. excessnet

    excessnet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hum... it seem to copy only the "tweak" settings. Not "Ftp Server Configuration" (like, I put Anonymous to "no" and it's still "yes") and stuff like that! :(
     
  6. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    You can also sync these configuration files manually from the source server. Sync'ing the following files should cause no issues

     
Loading...

Share This Page