The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating SRV Records in Bind

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by guapunya, Sep 17, 2005.

  1. guapunya

    guapunya Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi all.

    this might be too simple thing to some of you or even a stupid question to others. but i need to add in few lines of SRV Records in Bind. how can i do that within WHM? or even manually via terminal.
     
  2. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Edit "/var/named/(yourdomainnamegoeshere).db"
     
  3. purrdeta

    purrdeta Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I know this is an old topic, but it does not seem to work. When you query dnsstuff.com with SRV for domain, it doesnt return any records. I have given it plenty of time to take effect (months) and only recently was I reminded of this. Is there any reason why it doesnt work or how I could make it work?
     
  4. RickG

    RickG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    This article at
    LinuxQuestions.org may be of some help.

    I'm not a big fan of editing zone files from SSH (unless you know what you are doing) -- using the WHM interface will insure the serial number is updated and bind restarted.
     
  5. purrdeta

    purrdeta Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Unfortunately SRV records are not available as a choice in WHM. I prefer WHM a great deal but oh well!

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page