The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating Subdomain for website builder Issue

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by dmma_1987, Jan 25, 2016.

1. dmma_1987

dmma_1987 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi Guys,

I'm totally new with the whole hosting and stuff and just made a subdomain. I have no idea where to go and what to do to make my subdomain work. I created it based on the instructions and it was easy.

When I started to upload my files via the Adobe Muse, it kep t saying that the site may not support ftp etc. I try to check the subdomain by visiting the web address, it shows something's wrong and for me to check the logs.
    So I go and check the logs, and the subdomain isn't there.

I've exported from Adobe Muse for a previous subdomain before and it works. Now, I'm thinking if I needed an FTP account just for that. I'm definitely doing something wrong here - or that I haven't done anything yet. Pls help. Newbie here!

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What was the exact error message? May be useful.

3. dmma_1987

dmma_1987 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi! Thanks for getting back to me quick.

Here's a screenshot. Appears everytime I access the url of the said new subdomain. I pinged the site too - 100% loss / timed out.
    upload_2016-1-26_8-21-25.png

I noticed that on the cpanel, the dns registered on my new subdomain is different versus the dns i saw while pinging it. Does this help?

4. Infopro

Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That's not an error message from cPanel.

The subdomain, under normal circumstances should be using the same nameservers as the main domain.