The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

creating subdomains... cPanel API?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bcamp1973, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. bcamp1973

    bcamp1973 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello! First post for me :) Hopefully i learn lots! Anyway...

    My ISP provides cPanel for our admin tool (I love it!). I'm building a web app (PHP/MySQL) and I would like to create subdomains on a per user basis. The catch is I'd like to do it dynamically so I don't have to touch the app each time a user registers. Is this possible? Is there an API i can plug into? My ISP directed me here to ask the question then told me to let them know if there's anything they can do on their end to make it happen. Obviously I don't want to create any security issues for them, but making this happen would be a big help for my goals. Any suggestions?

    Cheers,
    B
     
  2. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes there is an API you can use to interface your own scripts and programs to Cpanel ...

    /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Accounting.php.inc
     
  3. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Your need is like, when a user registers, a subdomain of his choice should be created?
     
  4. bcamp1973

    bcamp1973 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Bingo! That's exactly what i'm trying for. I want the user to feel as though they have their own "personal" domain. This is becoming pretty popular with other sites (37signals.com products for example).
     
  5. jbhjbh

    jbhjbh Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would be interested in that as well. How do you use that api?

    JB
     
  6. bcamp1973

    bcamp1973 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the path mentioned by spiral isn't accessible by users of my ISP as it's at the root level. does anyone else know of any alternatives?
     
Loading...

Share This Page