The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating Webserver with WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SueK, Mar 24, 2004.

  1. SueK

    SueK Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We bought a new server and used WHM to copy and transfer (tar) the account from our old server to the new one and then unzipped. We can see via FTP that the structure is intact and the files are all there.

    When I check "List Accounts" in WHM, I can see the account sitting there. But I can't access the site on the new server to test links. In other words, I wanted to be able to type in:

    http://xx.xxx.xx.xx/mydomain/

    and be able to see my site (this is before the DNS change).

    A friend said that we need to create a webserver on the new box and that this is different from creating an account. My question is "how is that done in WHM?" We can't find anywhere to do that. Shouldn't we be able to do that using WHM?

    (As a note: on our old server, we couldn't figure it out either and another friend created the webserver using line commands but he is unavailable now.)

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
    #1 SueK, Mar 24, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2004
  2. techboard

    techboard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
  3. SueK

    SueK Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    D'oh! *smacks self on forehead* Yeah, that worked. Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page