The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creation of DNS zones fails

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by eXite, Aug 30, 2003.

  1. eXite

    eXite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have a really weird problem..

    When I try to add DNS zones in WHM it takes me to the creation page where it askes for an IP adress and a domain. So far, so good. But when I click "add", I get redirected to a page that says "here are the results of your requests". But the page remains that way, nothing shows up, and the DNS zone is not created.

    I've tried to restart cPanel/Named but after that I'd still get a blank page. The only thing that helps is to reboot my server, but that only helps for a short while..

    By the way: this happens every time WHM/cPanel uses /scripts/adddns. That means I get a blank page when I:

    1. Add a DNS Zone
    2. Add a parked domain
    3. Add an addon domain

    The weird thing is, when I manually use /scripts/adddns via SSH everything works fine.

    Anyone that knows the solution to this problem?

    cPanel 7.4.2-S117 on Redhat 9..

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    check what permissions ownership adddns has

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. eXite

    eXite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Isn't that right?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hmm these look ok, so it might be a broken perl install

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. eXite

    eXite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    But why is it that everything works fine after I reboot the system? And after adding two or three new zones it doesn't function properly anymore until I reboot the entire system again..

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sounds like a resource leak problem, or a broken binary module, perhaps even libperl.a
    You definitely want to get that looked at, or just replace the perl on the machine.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. eXite

    eXite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hmm, will that get automatically fixed when cPanel includes a new perl version in their updates? I don't feel like messing around with my brand new cPanel machine and risk messing everything up permanently :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. PeteC

    PeteC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    I have the same exact problem here. New server setup today. RedHat 9, WHM 8.2.0-R4.

    Haven't found a solution yet. I don't use Add a Zone often, so I probably won't spend an extensive amount of time on it.

    Worth putting in a support ticket if nobody knows a solution. Nick would like to see the problem in action I'm sure.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Me, too!! Redhat 9.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. theprimehost

    theprimehost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same here.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. PeteC

    PeteC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Now it started working again fine for me, on both servers. Who can figure? It's not a critical feature for me anyway, just a convenience, so I probably won't spend any more time on it...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page