The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Critical error on cpanel????

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cix, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. cix

    cix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Trying to update apache, we received this error:
    Code:
    Fetching http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea (0)....@75.126.236.226......connected......receiving...1%...2%...3%...4%...5%...6%...7%...8%...9%...10%...11%...12%...13%...14%...15%...16%...17%...18%...19%...20%...21%...22%...23%...24%...25%...26%...27%...28%...29%...30%...31%...32%...33%...34%...35%...36%...37%...38%...39%...40%...41%...42%...43%...44%...45%...46%...47%...48%...49%...50%...51%...52%...53%...54%...55%...56%...57%...58%...59%...60%...61%...62%...63%...64%...65%...66%...67%...68%...69%...70%...71%...72%...73%...74%...75%...76%...77%...78%...79%...80%...81%...82%...83%...84%...85%...86%...87%...88%...89%...90%...91%...92%...93%...94%...95%...96%...97%...98%...99%...100%......Done
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing buildapache.......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
    Checking Update System........Your operating system's rpm update method (yum) was not able to locate the glibc package. This is an indication of an improper setup. You must correct this error before you can proceed.
    Please correct the conflicts and try again!
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
     

    Code:
    [root@srv01 yum]# rpm -qa | grep glibc
    glibc-common-2.3.4-2.36
    glibc-headers-2.3.4-2.36
    MySQL-shared-4.1.22-0.glibc23
    MySQL-bench-4.1.22-0.glibc23
    glibc-2.3.4-2.36
    glibc-kernheaders-2.4-9.1.100.EL
    glibc-devel-2.3.4-2.36
    MySQL-devel-4.1.22-0.glibc23
    MySQL-client-4.1.22-0.glibc23
    MySQL-server-4.1.22-0.glibc23
    MySQL-embedded-4.1.22-0.glibc23
    [root@srv01 yum]#
    
    
    

    Code:
    [root@srv01 yum]# yum search glibc
    Searching Packages:
    Setting up repositories
    Reading repository metadata in from local files
    update    : ################################################## 304/304
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "/usr/bin/yum", line 29, in ?
        yummain.main(sys.argv[1:])
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 97, in main
        result, resultmsgs = do()
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 596, in doCommands
        return self.search()
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 1216, in search
        matching = self.searchPackages(searchlist, args, callback=self.matchcallback)
      File "__init__.py", line 1061, in searchPackages
      File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 75, in doRepoSetup
        self.doSackSetup(thisrepo=thisrepo)
      File "__init__.py", line 260, in doSackSetup
      File "repos.py", line 287, in populateSack
      File "sqlitecache.py", line 96, in getPrimary
      File "sqlitecache.py", line 89, in _getbase
      File "sqlitecache.py", line 373, in updateSqliteCache
      File "/var/tmp/python-sqlite-root//usr/lib/python2.3/site-packages/sqlite/main.py", line 244, in execute
    _sqlite.DatabaseError: unable to open database file
    [root@srv01 yum]#
    
    

    I´ve received from Layeredtech this message:

    Code:
    Yes unfortunately it seems your python-sqlite database and installation has become corrupted.  Unfortunately, the only solution is to re-image your server.
    Please open up a reload request ticket through Encompass.  
    We will reload your OS onto a fresh new primary drive for you.  If you choose "save data", we will slave in your old primary drive for data recovery.
    
    
    Is really necessary that???

    What can I do?
     
  2. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Unfortunately, this is the easiest and most common response from DC's. We must re-image and reformat your server. That does NOT , however appear to be the cause of the cpanel error, as cpanel is complaining about glibc, NOT python or sqlite.

    Try cleaning up the rpm database and rebuilding it. A great tutorial for doing that can be found here. After you do this, clean out the yum (or up2date) cache and rebuilding that as well. That might (note:might) help out.
     
  3. cix

    cix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,
    I umount /var/tmp, and now yum works.
    The simple fix was: umount /var/tmp and run /scripts/securetmp again.

    WOW!
     
    #3 cix, Sep 5, 2007
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2007
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That glibc check is using yum. If yum isn't working properly then the check will fail. AS cix discovered, there is more than one way to resolve this problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page